Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was a really great meal with a few alterations. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and only a couple tablespoons of butter for the mushrooms and garlic. It is such a rich meal that the alterations truly did not make a difference but cut out some fat. I marinated the chicken first in a little italian dressing and added about a 1/4 cup of pinot grigio to hot baking dish last minute and let it simmer for a few before adding the spinich/mushroom/sauce mix to the bottom of the pan. We ended up using less cheese but this may have been because we only had a couple chicken breasts. I will definately make this again for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
delicious and perfect for a nice, heavy occasional meal! I started with the bacon in a cast iron skillet and browned, set aside, and browned the chicken in the same pan with the bacon drippings before putting the entire pan in the oven for 20 mins on 350. I made my own cream of mushroom from scratch, added a little extra milk, butter, freshly grated garlic and nutmeg, and simmered until thick. After removing the skillet with the chicken from the oven, I removed it from the pan and wilted 2 bags of fresh baby spinach into that same skillet with 2 tb butter and 1/2 cup white wine until the spinach was wilted. Topped the spinach with 1/2 the sauce and finished as the recipe stated. BRILLIANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina p

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Got 4 stars for ease and quickness, but was lacking a bit of flavor. Next time I'm adding salt or more bacon and will spice up chicken. Update - Made it a second time - 5 stars. Used fresh spinach (wilted) and fresh mushrooms sauted in bacon grease - A lot less healthy, a lot tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Served this over tubed pasta last night and we enjoyed it. Took other's advise and placed raw chicken bone-in breasts over sautéed fresh spinach, garlic and mushrooms. Added wine to sauté and also cream sauce that went over chicken. I cut the mozzarella cheese and bacon in 1/2...to reduce some of the calories of this dish. I believe we didn't miss a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I thought this recipe looked good and knew instantly that I'd need to make a few tweaks (i just don't do bacon bits). Here is what i changed: 1. low fat cream of mushroom 2. 1/2 cup of 1% organic milk (half n half is just too rich) 3. 2 bags of fresh spinach (i sauteed them in batches. I just prefer fresh to canned) 4. 8 oz of fresh mushrooms (i also sauteed these before putting them in the dish) 5. 4 slices of bacon instead of the bacon bits 6. 1 cup of mozzarella cheese Also, instead of pre baking the chicken breasts I sauteed them per others suggestions in the comments. My dad and I agreed (i brought him some leftovers) that I should reduce the garlic (maybe 1 tsp of fresh minced garlic instead of 3).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grsechick
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was super delicious! I sauteed fresh baby spinach with garlic instead of using frozen spinach but good to know that frozen works in a pinch. I also skipped the first step and just baked this dish with the uncooked chicken for about 25-30 mins. Comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Charves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I used a large bag of fresh spinach instead of canned, and 2 percent milk since that was all I had on hand. I also dredged the chicken in seasoned flour and did a quick saute' instead of baking on a baking sheet. My family LOVED it. My husband said this is the best chicken dish he's ever eaten. I doubled the sauce, and will be putting it over angel hair pasta later in the week. Thanks for an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is delicious! I think I may use chicken marinated in Italian salad dressing next time, but the sauce was truly delicious. My family loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Really excellent recipe. I did use the fresh spinach. Also used sauteed fresh mushrooms and half an onion. I made it Friday night and didn't cook it (except the chicken) until Saturday evening for dinner. I will be making this again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have made this twice now, both times following the advice of the reviewers. It is one of my favorite dishes now. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States