Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I used the recipe right up to where it says canned spinach, I just couldnt do it. I used a bag of fresh spinach which I sauteed with the fresh mushrooms and garlic in a drizzle of olive oil. I put that in the bottom of the casserole dish and then followed the rest of the recipe. I found that 2C of mozzerella was too much for us, so I used 1C. I also used about 2 Tbsp white wine in place of the lemon juice. I added 1 Tbsp granulated garlic to the sauce along with the italian seasoning.I cut up some cooked leftover chicken breast and served everything over fettucini noodles. We loved it. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
very tasty and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was amazing! I read some reviews before making it. I also used frozen spinach, which made it kinda soupy.. but still great. I fried the bacon and sauteed the mushrooms in the bacon grease, then put that on top of the spinach in a 9x13 pan, then cooked the chicken partially and put half the sauce on the spinach and then added the chicken and put the rest of the sauce on the chicken, topped it with the bacon pieces and the mozzarella cheese. Covered and baked at 350 for 20 mins, then uncovered and baked for another ten mins. I couldn't get the cheese to brown because of the water from the spinach but it would have been great over rice. I had two helpings... couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crys10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was very yummy. I did brown my chicken in a drizzle of olive oil for about 4 minutes before assembling the casserole. I used frozen spinach. It was so very good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Loved it! I did fry bacon and sauteed fresh spinach in the bacon grease. After removing spinach, I added a bit of olive oil and cooked my chicken(cut up)in same skillet. Added some of my own dried seasonings (oregano, basil and parsley)to the sauce mixture. I didn't have 1/2 and 1/2 so just used 2 percent milk. I had to use canned mushrooms as all I had on hand. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks for posting, BRYAN0320!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Good, although I did make some changes (like 2000 other people, I see). I used fat-free milk instead of half and half, "healthy recipe" soup, only one tablespoon of butter and one cup of reduced-fat mozzarella. I seared the chicken in a pan on the stove in a little olive oil spray, then removed the chicken, added the butter, chopped mushrooms and garlic to the same pan and made the sauce there. I also used two 10 oz packages of frozen spinach. Four stars for the recipe as written because 2/3 cup of bacon bits is REALLY a lot (I pretty much covered the top of my dish with two tablespoons), and because baking is probably the least flavorful way to make chicken ever. Next time I would add some salt to the spinach before covering with the chicken and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It was good, but not excellent in my opinion. Kids did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
LOVE IT! I use an entire bag of fresh spinach instead of the canned. It wilts a little without becoming slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great tasting! Even my toddler loved it. Will be on heavy rotation at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I loved this recipe. I also changed a few things. I did NOT skip step one. Rather, I salt and peppered the chicken. If you cook the chicken to temperature, it will not be dry. Second,for the white sauce, I added cream of mushroom, 5 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup 2% milk, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese,1/4 onion, and 3 minced garlic cloves. My husband hates mushrooms so I substitued diced tomatoes. Next, I arranged the chicken and white sauce over the spinach and tomatoes,added lots of mozzarella cheese and then I added a refrigerated pie crust brushed with egg yolk on top of all of that! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States