Chicken, Fennel and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Simple fast and delicious. I had some ground chicken that needed to be used, so I substituted that for the chicken breasts and it worked out perfectly. This is my first time using fennel and I was impressed by how mild it tasted. It's got just a hint of flavor that leaves your mouth feeling clean and your tummy satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Easy and tasty recipe!! The soup has great and is even better the second day. The fennel is not overpowering.I used light half and half and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I found this to be fast and tasty. Be advised that it is very hardy and filling. I served it with fresh vegies and a dip. We were stuffed, without eating too many vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. This was absolutely delicious. I haven't had a meal this good in a while. I had to make a couple of adjustments from this recipe due to not being able to find the exact ingredients. It's still extremely close! Because bulb fennel doesn't seem to be in season, I used about 3 celery stalks & 2 tsps of crushed fennel seed. They also didn't have crimini mushrooms so I used baby portabella mushrooms instead. I also used 1/2 cup cream sherry instead of 1/4 and a bit more red bell pepper than the recipe calls for. Oh and no butter. Just olive oil. :) I can't wait for lunch tomorrow. (leftovers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Amazingly quick soup. My husband adored the buttermilk taste. I added sauted celery and onion to increase the vegetation of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
What is cream sherry and where could I find it (i.e., what section of grocery store)? Can anybody help me out? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Notis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent! The Quality of the Sherry is the key I believe. Its a fantastic recipe, my husband really enjoys it. Its perfect for a fall dinner, and I usually have the ingredients on hand. Loved it and it will become one of our standards for soup making. Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is one of my all time favorite soups! I usually skip the mushrooms, and use thinly sliced yellow potatoes instead. Fantastic recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This soup is sooooo good!!! The nice thing about it is that you can change a few things & it still won't lose it's "purity". I used celery instead fennel & didn't have "cream sherry" so used Marsala. It was still very, very good. Definitely a repeat!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent. I made a few additions: 1 onion, diced; 1 carrot; 1 potato; sliced thin; and 1/2 c. brown rice. I substituted bouillion cubes for the soup base and doubled the sherry. I simmered it all on very low heat, covered, for about an hour and ended up adding about 50% more buttermilk, half&half, and water since the potatoes thickened the broth a bit. Definitely a winner! My brother, who is not the most adventurous eater, said that this was amazing. Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States