Chicken, Fennel and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
What is cream sherry and where could I find it (i.e., what section of grocery store)? Can anybody help me out? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Notis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Easy and tasty recipe!! The soup has great and is even better the second day. The fennel is not overpowering.I used light half and half and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. This was absolutely delicious. I haven't had a meal this good in a while. I had to make a couple of adjustments from this recipe due to not being able to find the exact ingredients. It's still extremely close! Because bulb fennel doesn't seem to be in season, I used about 3 celery stalks & 2 tsps of crushed fennel seed. They also didn't have crimini mushrooms so I used baby portabella mushrooms instead. I also used 1/2 cup cream sherry instead of 1/4 and a bit more red bell pepper than the recipe calls for. Oh and no butter. Just olive oil. :) I can't wait for lunch tomorrow. (leftovers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Amazingly quick soup. My husband adored the buttermilk taste. I added sauted celery and onion to increase the vegetation of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I found this to be fast and tasty. Be advised that it is very hardy and filling. I served it with fresh vegies and a dip. We were stuffed, without eating too many vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as stated, and it is awesome! The only change I made was adding a little grated parmesan cheese on top before serving. Thank you! This one's for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Greatly disappointed. After reading the reviews here I thought I'd found the master vehicle for my fresh organic fennel. Instead I was underwhelmed by this thin, earthy-tasting soup. The flavors blend strangely. The tang of buttermilk is interesting but I'm not impressed with this dish in the least. It reminds me of a poor attempt at the famous Thai soup Thom Kha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleverpun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is a good start, but I wasn't completely happy with it. I made it while trying to get rid of some extra fennel. The directions on what to do with the chicken are a little confusing. Your best bet is to sautee the chicken in a saucepan with butter, onion, garlic, and a bit of sherry, mix the other ingredients in a separate stock pot and build the soup from there. Also, instead of soup base and water, why not just use chicken stock, so you can skip the water and avoid additives like msg? The broth was a bit bland at first, so I added black pepper and red pepper flakes. Also, instead of buttermilk AND half & half (which seems unnecessarily complicated), it might just be quicker to use heavy cream. Or just half & half. I also saw this question: Cream Sherry is a type of sweet sherry blend that is available in the booze aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This soup is sooooo good!!! The nice thing about it is that you can change a few things & it still won't lose it's "purity". I used celery instead fennel & didn't have "cream sherry" so used Marsala. It was still very, very good. Definitely a repeat!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe and I followed it to the 'T' which is unusual for me. Maybe I didn't simmer the fennel long enough as it was pretty crunchy. The flavor was nice enough, however not like I thought it would be after reading the reviews. I would like it to be a bit thicker too - hubby asked if it was supposed to be this watery. Will try it again with a few adjustments for our tastes and review it again. Thks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States