Chicken, Fennel and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Easy and tasty recipe!! The soup has great and is even better the second day. The fennel is not overpowering.I used light half and half and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I found this to be fast and tasty. Be advised that it is very hardy and filling. I served it with fresh vegies and a dip. We were stuffed, without eating too many vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. This was absolutely delicious. I haven't had a meal this good in a while. I had to make a couple of adjustments from this recipe due to not being able to find the exact ingredients. It's still extremely close! Because bulb fennel doesn't seem to be in season, I used about 3 celery stalks & 2 tsps of crushed fennel seed. They also didn't have crimini mushrooms so I used baby portabella mushrooms instead. I also used 1/2 cup cream sherry instead of 1/4 and a bit more red bell pepper than the recipe calls for. Oh and no butter. Just olive oil. :) I can't wait for lunch tomorrow. (leftovers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Amazingly quick soup. My husband adored the buttermilk taste. I added sauted celery and onion to increase the vegetation of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
What is cream sherry and where could I find it (i.e., what section of grocery store)? Can anybody help me out? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Notis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe and I followed it to the 'T' which is unusual for me. Maybe I didn't simmer the fennel long enough as it was pretty crunchy. The flavor was nice enough, however not like I thought it would be after reading the reviews. I would like it to be a bit thicker too - hubby asked if it was supposed to be this watery. Will try it again with a few adjustments for our tastes and review it again. Thks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as stated, and it is awesome! The only change I made was adding a little grated parmesan cheese on top before serving. Thank you! This one's for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Made a couple of changes due to personal preferences - omitted the parsley and red bell pepper (not a fan of either) and used marsala wine instead of sherry as that's what I had on hand. Like another reviewer, I topped the soup with a little Parmesan cheese. The soup could have done with being a tad thicker, but it tasted great nonetheless. Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent! The Quality of the Sherry is the key I believe. Its a fantastic recipe, my husband really enjoys it. Its perfect for a fall dinner, and I usually have the ingredients on hand. Loved it and it will become one of our standards for soup making. Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States