Chicken, Fennel and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wonderful rich soup. Only changes I make are to sear the chicken in oil and about 4 cloves minced garlic, and to double the water/chicken stock because we all love the broth. Healthy, hearty, and delicious. I've never served this to anyone who has not asked for the recipe. Thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is a good start, but I wasn't completely happy with it. I made it while trying to get rid of some extra fennel. The directions on what to do with the chicken are a little confusing. Your best bet is to sautee the chicken in a saucepan with butter, onion, garlic, and a bit of sherry, mix the other ingredients in a separate stock pot and build the soup from there. Also, instead of soup base and water, why not just use chicken stock, so you can skip the water and avoid additives like msg? The broth was a bit bland at first, so I added black pepper and red pepper flakes. Also, instead of buttermilk AND half & half (which seems unnecessarily complicated), it might just be quicker to use heavy cream. Or just half & half. I also saw this question: Cream Sherry is a type of sweet sherry blend that is available in the booze aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
To the person who wondered how this recipe came out - well, wonderful is the first word that comes to mind. It was my first time cooking with whole fennel as well as wine. I got Harvey's Bristol Cream Sherry - might as well get the best to create the best. I highly recommend this recipe. It will make you feel like you graduated from Le Cordon Bleu!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gazebo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This soup was awesome! My 2 year old could not stop saying yummy yummy while he inhaled it and then asked for more. I did make a lot of changes though. It seems to be a very forgiving recipe. I doubled all of the liquid ingredients and the soup base. I added the water and soup base with the sherry to cook the chicken. I left out the red bell pepper and added diced carrots, celery and shallots that I had sauteed in garlic and olive oil. I also used fresh lemon zest and fresh ground pepper instead of lemon pepper. I served it with cooked wild rice that everyone could add to their liking. Had I known it would be so good, I would have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Add lemon zest & fresh pepper, so much better! half a lemon will do.... I also put in 3 cloves of garlic YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Not a fan, the chicken was too dry. Otherwise the flavor was good, but if I were to try this recipe again I would use dark meat and not breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent. I made a few additions: 1 onion, diced; 1 carrot; 1 potato; sliced thin; and 1/2 c. brown rice. I substituted bouillion cubes for the soup base and doubled the sherry. I simmered it all on very low heat, covered, for about an hour and ended up adding about 50% more buttermilk, half&half, and water since the potatoes thickened the broth a bit. Definitely a winner! My brother, who is not the most adventurous eater, said that this was amazing. Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This soup is sooooo good!!! The nice thing about it is that you can change a few things & it still won't lose it's "purity". I used celery instead fennel & didn't have "cream sherry" so used Marsala. It was still very, very good. Definitely a repeat!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Simple fast and delicious. I had some ground chicken that needed to be used, so I substituted that for the chicken breasts and it worked out perfectly. This is my first time using fennel and I was impressed by how mild it tasted. It's got just a hint of flavor that leaves your mouth feeling clean and your tummy satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is one of my all time favorite soups! I usually skip the mushrooms, and use thinly sliced yellow potatoes instead. Fantastic recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States