Chicken, Fennel and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This was pretty tasty. I could have drank the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Awesome change! Didn't have any half and half so used 2/3 pkg large cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I can't really rate this recipe. I totally changed it into a kinda creamy stir fry over rice. Used cubed chicken, mushrooms, red pepper, celery, lemon pepper Then sherry ... A little corn starch in the cream and presto. Sherried chicken over rice. Just sharing, I'm sure the soup is great. I wish I had fennel on hand. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I made this soup and served it with chicken salad sandwiches. My husband and I both loved it! I did not use the cream sherry and I used baby bella mushrooms but otherwise followed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is an easy, delicious soup! For a first time fennel user, I am glad I picked this recipe. I followed the recipe all the way to the cooking of the veggies where I cooked them longer, till they were done, before I added the cream & buttermilk. I used a heavy bottomed dutch oven to brown the chicken breasts & browned them well on the outside, they were a little pink inside yet when i tore them up, but cooked with the veggies later. then just continued in that pot to get all the flavor from the bottom. Fantastic! It is even better the next day as the lemon pepper seems to come forth more giving it just the slightest heat. Some reviewed it as too thin, I think the thinness is partly what makes it such an elegant soup. I will make this again & again and I will not change anything! Thank you for a wonderful recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My husband and I got fennel in our CSA box had no idea how to use it...Thank goodness for this recipe! This was my first time cooking with fennel and I was really scared of the licorice taste. Surprisingly once the fennel was cooked it was extremely similiar tasting to cooked onion or celery-- super easy to eat! I can't do bouillion because of the MSG, so I ommitted it along with the 1.5c water. This resulted in more of a stroganoff effect which I anticipated and served over some fancy brown rice. I also simplified the cooking process a bit. I used a saucepan and sauteed the chicken (used 5 drumsticks) with the butter&oil and when it was about half cooked through I added 3 cloves chopped garlic, lemon pepper, regular sherry (1/2c), sliced fennel, diced onion and cooked it until chicken and veggies were near done, then added mushrooms and red bell peppers. Cooked it until they were al dente. I then removed the pan from the heat and took the drumsticks out, removed bones and skin (saved for stock making later) and reintroduced the meat and other remaining ingredients (buttermilk, 1/2&1/2, parsley). I cooked it only long enough to heat it through, but not boil it. I would definetly make this again, but next time use more mushrooms because it definetly wouldn't hurt this dish. I would like to try it again with white meat because deboning drumsticks is a bit labor intensive. It is loaded with calories, but we're healthy eaters otherwise and didn't mind the splurge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great start. I added asparagus and kale. I also made a bit of a reaux w/ the chicken which I cooked in garlic and onion chunks to thicken it a bit. Added a lot of spices and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casNrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Excellent! Fresh grated Parmesana Regianno was the perfect topping for perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This soup seemed like a battle of the week flavors. All the flavors were very delicate. The soup is DEFINITELY better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erynotyuki
Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Greatly disappointed. After reading the reviews here I thought I'd found the master vehicle for my fresh organic fennel. Instead I was underwhelmed by this thin, earthy-tasting soup. The flavors blend strangely. The tang of buttermilk is interesting but I'm not impressed with this dish in the least. It reminds me of a poor attempt at the famous Thai soup Thom Kha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleverpun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States