Chicken Fajita Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
DEEEELICIOUS!!! This recipe is perfect as is. No alterations are necessary, IMHO. Although my hubby wasn't as willing to give this a superb rating, he didn't have any "real" complaints either.... His only comment was that our fajitas were a little "limey," but that's what I like most about this recipe! I recently misplaced my go-to fajita recipe and am glad to have found a very similar replacement (and it's just as "limey"). :) After reading several reviews, I determined that my husband's opinion seems to be the dominant opinion on here also. Not wanting to cross-contaminate (i.e. marinating veggies w/ raw chicken), I made 2 batches of marinade - 1 for my cut-up chicken (I purchased a pkg. of tenderloins on sale) & another for my veggies (sliced Vadilla onion & red / green bell peppers). I marinated everything for 2 hrs. and used a sm. amount of the marinade (from veggies) to saute in, but I don't think the latter was necessary. I used Corona lite in my marinade w/ excellent results. For a fun presentaton, I preheated fajita pans (500 degree oven for ~ an hr.) to get a nice "sizzle" effect just like they do at authentic Mexican restaurants (or Chili's for that matter...). NOTE: The acidity of lime juice will break down (i.e. cook) your chicken. Two hrs. MAX is SPOT ON, allowing just enough time for the marinade to do it's magic. :) Served w/ Mexican Rice III (ALANSMOM), guac / chips & Mike's hard margaritas, this was an EXCELLENT meal! Thanks for sharing, Olivia! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
WOW. This was good. Flavors meld well and are nice and clean. I actually marinaded the chicken for a full day, not intentionally. I cut them into nice pieces and sauted them in a skillet with peppers and onions. I added a bit more cumin than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made these changes: upped the garlic to 3 cloves, used 1 tsp of cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, and 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke. It tasted good, but not for fajitas. It needs spice. In the future I would just use this as a chicken marinade, not for fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is easy and excellent. I double the recipe and freeze 1/2 in a freezer bag with cut up chicken. Next time you want it, just defrost and cook! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It's a good base recipe, but I thought it lacked in fajita flavor and was a little too sweet. So I added one tablespoon of liquid smoke, which made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very Yummy marinade! I didn't have a dark beer which is what I wanted to use but still turned out fine! I marinated for about 2 1/2 hrs! Great marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is my new chicken marinade. The leftover chicken I used for chicken salad...awesome! I'm in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Made this tonight for dinner and it's two thumbs up! Only marinated for about 45 minutes (chicken breasts) and then grilled. Put the onions and red bell pepper in foil with evoo, salt and pepper and grilled too, and all was very tasty! Prefer hands down over the packet of dry fajita seasoning. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My fajitas came nice and juicy! Cooked them on the gas grill, also sliced peppers and onions and put them in a foil pack with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Heated the tortillas on the grill too. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ruby

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Great recipe, even my picky kids loved it. Used white wine instead of beer since that's what I had on hand. Sliced the chicken before marinating, and 30 minutes was enough time. Will use this recipe regularly - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States