Chicken Eugene Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Making this tonight! I grew up eating this exactly like this! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I grew up eating this and have not had in many years. When I first tasted this it brought me back to my childhood. First, the people who are complaining that this was too salty... if you read on the dried beef jar, it says that if using in a recipe to rinse with warm water before using. This will reduce the salt content. My whole family really liked this even my picky 16 year old. The only thing I will do different next time is not use bacon at all as it did not add much and it was slimmy. Either that or I will brown the breast with the bacon on it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Prefer crispy bacon? Mix the sour cream, soup and chopped dried beef, spread into pan. Lay chicken over sour cream mixture, lay bacon on top. Cover with foil and bake for 2 1/2 hours at 325 F. ... uncover for last 30 minutes. DEEEELICIOUS!!!! (This was the first meal my husband ever made for me ... he called it Yummy Chicken Dinner. Very appropriate name :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Wonderful! I've been trying to find this to know how long to cook it. I used to make this YEARS ago .. every time I wanted to impress somebody!! We're having two more couples over tomorrow night and I have put it all together and now know to let it cook all afternoon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been making a variation of this receipe for 15 years or so now. I'm not sure if any of the previous reviews said this or not but there is an important step missing in the recipe here. You have to rinse each piece of dried beef and pat each one dry before using it - that is why everyone says it is too salty! Also, I think mixing the sour cream with golden mushroom gives a much better flavor than regular cream of mushroom soup but I guess that is just individual preference...I hope the rinsing the beef tip is helpful - it WILL be too salty without that step - I forgot to do it one time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I have had this dish before, but, had no idea it took so long to cook. I thought it seemed crazy to cook boneless chicken breasts for 3 hours, but, mine was fork tender and not dry. I noticed some people had problems with their chicken being dry, so, maybe it depends on the size of the chicken you use. I took the hint of some other reviewers and rinsed the dried beef well and patted dry to help with some of the saltiness of the dish. Not a dish I would make every day due to the bacon, salty beef and sour cream, but, a nice treat from time to time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Thanks for posting this! My mother used to cook this all the time in the 60's and it was in her file as "Husband's Delight Chicken." I remembered all the ingredients - or was at least pretty sure I did - but I was clueless about how long to cook etc. She is in her 80's now and doesn't remember this at all, but I know she'll love it as much now as she did then. I'm hoping it will freeze well in individual servings. I'll update this with that info. Again - THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Just like the person who offered the recipe, we just served 26 people and I have never been so proud of any entree. We used the sides exactly as given in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I make my own mushroom soup, use portabella and shitake mushrooms, and I add a good 1/4 cup of Marsala to the sour cream. I also pound the breasts, and roll the beef inside then wrap the chicken rolls with the bacon. I like to sprinkle the top with smoked paprika before baking and fresh parsley after baking. For presentation to company, I place cooked brown rice in individual au gratin dishes. I like to make a spicy watercress and radiccio salad with a balsamic vinaigrette as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookiesMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Wife and I both loved this recipe, but next time I will use chick. tenders. My pref. only, and thicker bacon strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States