Chicken Encilantrada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I mixed this up because it seemed like it needed more. I used red onion and added red bellpepper, garlic, black beans and diced green chili peppers. Also for flavor added some cumin, red pepper and a dash of chili powder. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
We have this fairly often. My husband loves it even though the first time he saw it he had definite reservations. I sprinkle a little cheddar on top ours. It's equally good over either chips or rice. But my favorite way to use this recipe is as a quesadilla filler (again, with a little cheddar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was very tasty. I just gobbled it down in a big soup bowl. I will probably make this again, and I will take the suggestion to serve it over steamed rice, and perhaps with tortilla chips. The dish was somewhat soupy, as a previous reviewer complained, but I'm sure that rice will nicely soak it up, making it very tasty too. Also, I used cubed chicken; next time I will try to take the time to shred it instead; I think that will give the chicken more surface area to absorb the other flavors. I also appreciated that this was a quick dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Incredible! I cooked the chicken (in tiny bite-sized pieces) in olive oil and Penzey's Chicken Taco Seasoning. In a tbs of olive oil, I sauteed the (red) onion. Didn't measure the cilantro OR the salsa verde (Probably used more than called for). Taking heed of the "Soupy" warnings, I omitted the broth entirely. (This DOES need salt - so don't forget to add that!) And, finally: I took TAMMYBYERLY's idea of using it as a Quesadilla filler, with Reduced Fat Mexican blend cheese. (Set out Light Sour Cream & La Victoria's Cilantro Salsa for topping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Excellent! I did add a clove of garlic during hte first step and cooked my chicken with cumin, garlic, and lime-infused salt to give the dish plenty of flavor. It was a tad liquidy, but that was fine with me because I served it over rice. Also baked up some corn tortillas and served those on the side. Definitely a make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I added lime juice with the salsa and put tomatoes in at the end, then served the dish in tortilla shells. I think it would have been better with rice mixed in. I'd probably make it again and try it with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This was okay, It seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
super yummy! a must try for those that enjoy cilantro as much as i do and who are always looking for new ideas to use it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
A nice alternative to "normal" chicken and rice dishes....I love the taste of the fresh cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Made it with leftovr chicken. Add garlic to onion. Served with diced avocado. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manati, Manati, Puerto Rico
Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States