Chicken Encilantrada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was yummy. I love the fresh cilantro, which is something I rarely ever use. I added some garlic cloves and cumin, otherwise I kept everything the same. I had no problems with it being "soupy" since I let it set for a bit longer than instructed. I used this mixture for burritos and it was very satisfying. I'm thinking of using the leftovers in a salad for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very yummy! I was a little nervous to try this one when I saw what it looked like but it was delicious! I agree, adding some chicken taco seasoning when you cook the chicken helps give it something extra. As for the "soupy" nature of the dish, it ended up being just fine once I let it set for a few minutes - made a nice sauce to pour over the dish and got soaked up by the rice. Made left-overs. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I liked it. I left out the chicken broth. I didnt see the purpose for it. I squized a lime into it. I used it in tacos. Very tasty! Next time I'll chop up a fresh jalapeno & cook it in the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is soo yummy! My husband is Spanish and asks for this all the time. I had never boiled chicken before, but decided to cook it real Mexican style and boil it. The meal turned out great! Spicy and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Loved the fresh cilantro taste as well as the green salsa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimindallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I loved this. The tomatillo salsa I used had green olives in it. I also added sweet red pepper and a cup of corn. I cooked this all together and added my broth at the end. I then lowered the heat and reduced it until it thickened. I added shredded-grilled chicken at the very end and served it in a soft taco shell. This was fantastic! Looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Absolutely LOVED this recipe!!!! If you like cilantro, you will LOVE this!!It is a definite "keeper" Next time I will double or triple this because I want to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I cooked the chicken, as one reviewer said, in lime juice with crushed red pepper. Found it best served over Spanish rice filled with lots of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdgcats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was really good! I used Embasa Salsa Verde which turned out to be really hot - and we like hot - but a little too much for us. I will find a milder salsa next time. Served over white rice but also enjoyed the leftovers in flour tortillas with a dollop of sour cream. Easy and quick! Updated to five stars. This is SO good; I've made it several times and stuck with Embasa Salsa Verde after all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Incredible! I cooked the chicken (in tiny bite-sized pieces) in olive oil and Penzey's Chicken Taco Seasoning. In a tbs of olive oil, I sauteed the (red) onion. Didn't measure the cilantro OR the salsa verde (Probably used more than called for). Taking heed of the "Soupy" warnings, I omitted the broth entirely. (This DOES need salt - so don't forget to add that!) And, finally: I took TAMMYBYERLY's idea of using it as a Quesadilla filler, with Reduced Fat Mexican blend cheese. (Set out Light Sour Cream & La Victoria's Cilantro Salsa for topping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States