Chicken Encilantrada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this tonight and the hubby and I loved it. I served it over white rice with tortilla chips. I made it just like the recipe stated. I can see how others would want some cumin in it, maybe I will try it next time. Since I make shredded chicken in the crockpot each week this is a great way to use some of it up. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I eliminated the chicken broth and served it over chips, after baking in oven with shredded cheese on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was good, I will make again. I made this with green taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I really wasn't sure about this, my husband found the recipe, and I usually don't like cilantro. Not sure if I added a cup, but it mixed so well with the onion and the salsa. I added a pinch of cumin, maybe a half a tsp of garlic powder, and red pepper instead of black pepper. really good on chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was a different spin on things, but very good. We used pico de gallo and corn tortillas to finish out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this the first time because I was looking for something different and easy. I'm not big on cilantro but I figured "why not?". my husband loved it and a friend who stopped by (and had already eaten dinner), couldn't help but eat it as well :O) I did change it a bit...I doubled the onion and added a hot pepper (red in color...someone gave it to me...chile perhaps?). I also added a few cloves garlic, some cumin and a splash of lime and dry white wine. I fried the chicken separately until almost done with a dusting of garlic, salt, pepper, cayenne and cumin so that it had a bit more flavor. I did use the stock but I used butter/flour to thicken a bit so that it wasn't too soupy. And for health reasons, I always use brown rice! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was very tasty! I added a chopped fresh Jalapeno in with the onion. To prepare the chicken, I rubbed taco seasoning on liberally and then grilled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
After cooking a whole chicken we always have enough leftover to make this recipe. Great over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I was skeptical about trying out this recipe, especially when I put everything together in the pan. I thought I had cilantro, but I really only had GREEN ONIONS - which you can imagine is what I used as a substitution. Though, that was my ONLY change! I had marinated some chicken that I had frozen, so before I left for work I stuck it in the fridge to thaw it out. Cooked the chicken, set it aside and followed directions accordingly. I used "HERDEZ SALSA VERDE" for the green salsa and measured exactly 7 oz. We made our own chips with just flour tortilla and vegetable oil. Served it over jasmine rice seasoned with black pepper. A dish you MUST SERVE HOT! Despite that I didn't have cilantro and used green onions instead, it was still soo delicious!! Boyfriend and I loved it and both had fun making it! I'll be sure to use cilantro next time! I think for those who feel that this is lacking flavor, definitely marinate your chicken and make sure to serve hot! Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I used store bought green salsa, added a bit of cumin and covered it all with sharp cheddar cheese then served in warmed corn tortillas. My husband and I really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States