Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe turned out great. I used a rotisserie chicken from the deli and shredded all the meat off of it. For the sauce I used a 14 oz. can of chicken broth,1/2 cup sour cream & 1/2 cup greek style yogurt to cut some of the fat. I also added some garlic powder,cumin, & paprika.When I rolled the tortillas with the chicken and cheese, I spooned a little bit of sauce on top before rolling them.Baked them at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.I used a 9x12 dish and was able to squeeze a couple extra tortillas in there.My husband loved this dish!! Not runny at all, just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apaige232
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Now these are some ENCHILADAS! We live in Arizona and this recipe meets or beats all of the Mexican food restaurants here, and there are a lot of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is such a great recipe. I added 1/2 can of diced jalapenos...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made these for a dinner party my fiance and I were throwing at our house. They were a big hit. My fiance said that they were the best enchiladas he's ever had, and he's picky when it comes to food. I used a few spoons of cream cheese because someone ate half the sour cream out of our fridge and didn't mention it to me before I went shopping. So I used about 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup cream cheese. Delicious! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AsiaKym

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe received 5 stars from my super picky husband. I did adapt it a bit. I used about 3/4 cup green chili salsa instead of the green chiles in the cream sauce, and I put the small can of green chiles in with the filling. I also created a bed of cooked white rice with whole corn and diced roasted red peppers in the baking dish, and then put the enchiladas on it, which soaked up the extra cream sauce nicely and made a yummy side dish. It might have been too much cream sauce otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Excellent recipe. I have made this for several gathering and it's always a hit. My family loves garlic, so I've add lots more garlic and doubled the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My husband's new favorite. I used what I had on hand - mozzarella for the cheese and sliced pickled jalapenos in place of the green chiles. Yes, the second substitution makes a significant flavor difference and they were spicy but we loved them. Also, someone said it had a lot of sauce - it does, but if you take the time to let it thicken (5 minutes on my range over med to med-high heat) it will be fine. It got thicker as it baked, too; because of that, they are a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This meal is "Delicious." I made cheese enchiladas instead of chicken. I purchased American cheese from over the counter at a deli in a grocery store. I filled the tortillas with cheese, cilantro and onions. I didn't put the green onions on top at the end or the cilantro since I had already put cilantro in the tortillas. Some of the best enchiladas I ever had. I'll be making this meal for the rest of my life. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
YUMMY! I also doctored it a little and added a bit of the sauce to the chicken mix, along with some corn and occasionally I will throw in half a can of refried beans to the mix. A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJMommy
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My personalizations: I used whole wheat tortillas and didn't soften before filling and they still came out wonderfully! I did add 1/2 bag of frozen onion and red and green pepper strips (sauteed briefly to soften) to the chicken filling. The sauce is AMAZING. I didn't have all of the sour cream called for so I subsituted low fat cream cheese. I also didn't have any chiles but I used some jalapeno slices from a jar and added a little of the liquid to the sauce for flavor. It was perfect. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States