Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
The sauce itself is four stars! Overall I did some "doctoring" (added a dollop of sour cream to the filler mixture and also used freshly chopped sauteed onion instead of minced) in efforts to get the kids to eat it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Delicious! I made it last night and it was a hit!! The creamy sauce is such a welcome change to traditional enchiladas! I made a slight change by using cooked jalapeno chiles and chopping them finely, otherwise, followed the recipe and enjoyed it immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
not very good, way too much sauce (I guess I could have only poured half of it on the enchiladas) and I would have left the cheese off the top (way too much cheese to this recipe).They just didn't have anything to them, just chicken and cheese was about all there was to it. to me it needed rice, beans, the works...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe turned out great. I used a rotisserie chicken from the deli and shredded all the meat off of it. For the sauce I used a 14 oz. can of chicken broth,1/2 cup sour cream & 1/2 cup greek style yogurt to cut some of the fat. I also added some garlic powder,cumin, & paprika.When I rolled the tortillas with the chicken and cheese, I spooned a little bit of sauce on top before rolling them.Baked them at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.I used a 9x12 dish and was able to squeeze a couple extra tortillas in there.My husband loved this dish!! Not runny at all, just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Excellent recipe. I have made this for several gathering and it's always a hit. My family loves garlic, so I've add lots more garlic and doubled the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apaige232
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Now these are some ENCHILADAS! We live in Arizona and this recipe meets or beats all of the Mexican food restaurants here, and there are a lot of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is such a great recipe. I added 1/2 can of diced jalapenos...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very good and simple to make, but the creamy sauce could use some seasoning. I think my fiance' added seasoning salt and pepper into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My husband's new favorite. I used what I had on hand - mozzarella for the cheese and sliced pickled jalapenos in place of the green chiles. Yes, the second substitution makes a significant flavor difference and they were spicy but we loved them. Also, someone said it had a lot of sauce - it does, but if you take the time to let it thicken (5 minutes on my range over med to med-high heat) it will be fine. It got thicker as it baked, too; because of that, they are a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made these for a dinner party my fiance and I were throwing at our house. They were a big hit. My fiance said that they were the best enchiladas he's ever had, and he's picky when it comes to food. I used a few spoons of cream cheese because someone ate half the sour cream out of our fridge and didn't mention it to me before I went shopping. So I used about 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup cream cheese. Delicious! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AsiaKym

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States