Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Excellent taste and very easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
4.5 stars because I KNOW, this would have been too bland for my tastes as written. However, nice starting point. I was in the "use it up" mode so..had pre-cooked frozen chicken breast I thawed/chopped and seasoned up (3 Cups). Added 1/4 C each roasted/diced fresh poblano pepper & red bell pepper plus 1/4 C each of homemade refried beans and sour cream to chicken filling. I finely minced a sweet onion & mixed in about 1/3 C of that also. I had a bag of Mexican shredded cheese blend to use vs M Jack. This filled 12 corn tortillas (I heat in skillet to soften) I looked this up for the grn chile sauce but used a tomatillo salsa (didnt' have the grn chiles) with some of my minced poblano chilies. Added garlic/cumin/coriander/cayenne/parsley. Only used 1/2 S crm called for. Even with my additions/adjustments the taste was super. I wanted to use something other than 'red' sauce & this was it. Thanks for a versatile recipe you can adjust or adapt. I baked the cilantro & grn onion on top with the cheese. My company devoured them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I added some some southwest seasoning to the chicken, and put a generous teaspoon of chopped fresh cilantro inside each enchilada to add a little more flavor, and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this for my SO and he said it was good. He did mention that there wasn't enough sauce. So I'll probably double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I am only rating the sauce because I just made it for burritos. I did not do the enchiladas. This sauce is to die for! It's wonderful! I used fresh fire roasted green chiles and added a little more sour cream and "better than boullion" to the sauce because I was almost out (I just used what I had left). This is incredible! Highly recommend and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yummy sauce! Double the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
WOW! These are excellent. Absolutely excellent. I made a few minor changes, not because I thought the recipe was wrong, but because of what I had on hand. I cooked the chicken in salsa to add a bit of flavor, so I skipped the onion. And I used 7 oz of green chiles instead of 4. These are seriously excellent. I had to force myself to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This rating is for the sauce. I use a different recipe for the enchiladas. Wonderful flavor blend of creamy and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHoldren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Just wonderful!!! I added 3 crushed garlic cloves to the sauce. Think I will sauté the onions for just a few minutes next time. It's perfect the way it is if you like it mild, add some jalapeños for more spice if you like. I also did not use all 3 chicken breasts, it was just to much. Would be great with shrimp or crab or just spinach and mushrooms. Great recipe that you love as is or you can do a lot with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great idea & the measurements are spot-on, but it was too bland for me as written. I ended up adding some coriander, turmeric, garlic powder & cayenne pepper to the sauce the first time as I had them on hand. Also, I do not use sour cream anymore for anything. A high quality, plain, Greek style yoghurt can be substituted 100% for sour cream to cut fat & increase health benefits without a change in flavor (if it doesn't taste like sour cream then it's not high quality, no matter what it cost). I have found I prefer to add mushrooms & sometimes beans or Spanish rice to the filling mix & I no longer fry the tortillas-they roll fine at room temp. I've also used leftover Thanksgiving turkey in place of the chicken. This recipie, as written, is a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States