Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Really yummy, but a bit more work than I would have liked... (no, I'm not lazy, just busy). I will make them again, though, but not on a week night -- and I will make double the sauce quantity and freeze some, as it does freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I lightened these up quite a bit by using reduced-fat cheeses (and slightly less of it, one 8 oz package) and reduced fat sour cream, and also by cooking the tortillas in simmering broth for a few seconds instead of frying them. For those concerned with that sort of thing, I would recommend 1/2 oz. chicken and 1/2 oz. cheese per enchilada. I used real butter and white whole-wheat flour. They were good this way, although next time I think I'll use 1/2 cup less broth in the sauce, since it was a little runny; I'm sure it was the reduced-fat sour cream. With these changes, I'd give this recipe 4 stars, which is still pretty good for a lightened-up recipe; as written, I'd expect it to be a five, and I also don't think it's fair to penalize a recipe for choices that I made. Thus, five stars it is! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I love the white sauce and use it on almost all of my chicken enchilada recipes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have made these multiple times and they are a family favorite. My only change to the recipe is that I mix the green chiles into the chicken mixture and add a can of rotel into the sauce for a bit of kick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Love the sauce but added extra can of chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kimberton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I make my white enchiladas somewhat like this already but it was nice to have this recipe so that I can share with others since it's in my head and have nothing written down. Unfortunately, the sauce didn't thicken up for me so I tempered in a beaten egg into it just to be on the safe side. I had about a cup of tomatillo sauce left over from a previous meal, so I put a thin layer on the bottom of the pan before placing the rolled tortillas on top. After I poured the sauce over the enchiladas I drizzled the remainder of the tomatillo sauce -- it was a medium heat so it gave a nice zing with the white sauce. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was very good. As much as I hate people changing recipes I have to admit I did. Nothing too big though I just used flour tortillas because that is what I had and I added some cream cheese to the sauce as well. The end product was fantastic and I will make again for sure. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Absolutely delish! Loved it! I served the dish with a small side of corn, refried beans and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JerseyGirl Caitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Very good, but a needed more seasoning; had to add a lot of salt after the fact, it is better to have the salt cooked into the dish than to add it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
A very solid recipe! It is mild, but tasty and enjoyed by kids, which is always a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States