Chicken Enchiladas With Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Thanks, this is a keeper! Reviewed First Faceless Frenzy Western Allstars 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I selected this recipe to make because I had leftover mole (Rick Bayless version) to use and poblanos and Anaheim peppers in the garden. So, I only made the chicken filling for enchiladas which has a very good flavor. The amount of meat to broth seems off. I had to reduce the liquid for a long time. I'd add more meat - say 2#, or reduce the chicken broth by 1 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was very good. The video, in addition to showing the authenticity of this recipe, was also helpful as part of step 4 is missing: adding the cooked tomatoes and tomatillos to the blender and blending with the chile mixture. I followed the recipe exactly with two exceptions that I also recommend: 4 cups chicken broth was way too much for simmering the chicken in step 1. I used 2 cups and it was still too much. Next time I will use just enough to cover the chicken. Next, instead of adding 2 cups broth to the mole in step 6, I added a little at a time until the mole was the right consistency, tasting as I went. It ended up being only 1 cup. Finally, as a note: this recipe will make about a quart of mole -- roughly twice as much as you will need. Personally, I will be making more chicken rather than waste the mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Just finished making this for dinner tonight. Luckily I did not have to work - the time involved is lengthy but well worth it. My husband and I gobbled it up! The recipe as written makes a lot of extra mole sauce, so I froze the leftovers. Probably could have done with only half the amount. And as another reviewer noted, I cut back on the chicken broth in the mole sauce (used about 1/2 the amount). We will make this again, on another day when we have a lot of time. Would recommend chopping everything up beforehand, rather than as you go like I did! It would probably save a lot of time in prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I only made the chicken part of this dish. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amonia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was as good as any I've had in a restaurant! I doubled the recipe, but not the fresh peppers and tomatoes, but yes on the dried chiles. It took a lot longer than 2 hours, and used every pan I had in the house, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
And I thought mine was the best, You got this one right, its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have made the chicken alone many times to go with fajitas or as a side. I do not reduce the amount of broth but I use a little more chicken (how does 4 thighs make 12 enchiladas? ? They must be large ones) . You need to let the chicken simmer for a while and using that much broth makes the chicken and peppers/onions extremely flavourful and tender. Don't be fooled by the lack of ingredients in the chicken... just be patient and let the liquid boil off and you will be left with tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States