Chicken Enchiladas V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This recipe is very good and easy to make. I think I got the biggest compliment last week about it too...my boyfriend and I went out to eat at a local, well-known Mexican restaurant. He ordered the enchiladas....as he pushed his half finished plate away he told me "your enchiladas are better"! I have made a few modifications to the recipe to suit my tastes. Instead of the cream of chicken soup, I use Campbells Nacho Cheese or Southwestern Cheese soup. I add a jar of medium or mild green chile salsa to the sour cream/soup mixture for texture and spice. Instead of chopping the chicken for the filling, I shred it and add a few tablespoons of the sour cream/soup mixture to moisten the filling, otherwise it tends to be a bit dry to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Excellent! I used 1 T of Olde El Paso Taco seasoning mix instead of chili powder and pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar for more spice. For my "picky" child I just put aside some chicken, (no onion or chiles) mixed with sauce, used cheddar and put hers on one side of the dish. She loved it. Just a few tips for those making this for the first time. 1. Don't start this from scratch, if like me, you get home at 5:15 unless your family likes to eat late. Next time I will have the chicken cooked and chopped ahead of time. 2. Double the sauce. It's worth it. 3. SPRAY the baking dish with PAM. 4. Wrap tortillas in foil and put in oven for a few minutes. They are much easier to wrap. Try this recipe. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I have to admit, I only used this as a basis for what I ended up creating! Mine turned out wonderfully...with all of my alterations, but thought I'd share them with you. I mixed 1 can cream of chicken soup and 1 can cream of mushroom soup and added the 4 oz can of green chilies to this mixture. I sliced and sauteed 8 boneless/skinless chicken thighs with 1-2 tsp cumin and 1 tsp chili and 3 garlic cloves. Then to assemble...lay out your 8 inch tortilla, put 2 tbsp soup mixture, a tbsp of cottage cheese, a big handful of fresh spinach, some chicken and top with a bit more soup mixture. Roll it up and place in a 9 x 12 pan that you've added some of the soup mixture in the bottom of to avoid sticking. Repeat - this quantity made 6 tortillas with a bit of chicken left over which I chopped and added to the top. Cover it with cheddar, bake for one hour at 325. Remove foil for last 10 minutes and allow to rest for 10 minutes before dishing up. I prepared this for family - and it was a huge hit. Thanks for inspiring me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Excellent! Just the recipe I've been searching for. I added a couple of things and they turned out wonderful. I added a can of Rotel to the chicken after browning, and added a can of green enchilada sauce to the cream of chicken and sour cream. Just the kick it needed. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Everyone I have made this for loves it! I have change one thing after making it several times. I now throw 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts in the crockpot with some peperoncini's & juice (sp) let them cook all day and then shread the chicken. It really gives it a good flavor that is not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Love, love, LOVED this recipe! The only thing I changed was added a tablespoon of cumin with the chili powder, stirred in some canned enchilada sauce to the soup mixture and added cheese inside each enchilada. These are the BEST enchiladas I've ever tasted. (You made my husband a happy Man!) Thanks Jeri!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I've made this several times for groups of people; everybody loves it! I made a few modifications....I added chopped green peppers and celery with the onion, replaced the can of green chilies with a can of Rotel (diced tomatoes with green chilies) and put half of it with the soup mixture, half with the chicken. I also put cheese inside each enchilada. These are SO good, definitely one of our favorite meals now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious! I doubled the soup (used the Healthy Request version) and the sour cream(low-fat), used half a packet of taco seasoning mix instead of the chili powder, and used a reduced-fat Mexican cheese blend. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
while i'm sure this recipe is good with the chili powder, I substitute it with Hot Taco Seasoning. I like things spicy! I also add a little of the seasoning to the cream of chicken and sour cream mixture, but just a touch. For the chicken, i buy a pre-cooked chicken from the deli section at the grocery store and shred off some breast meat. Just before I put the cheese on top, I place a few jalapeno slices on top of each one. Like i said, I like things spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
These are wonderful! Try playing around with some of the ingredients...shredded Chipotle cheese gives a nicely spiced kick. I serve this with Absolute Mexican Cornbread found on this site,also Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 935) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States