Chicken Enchiladas Suizas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and years - served 50 people at my daughter's college graduation dinner with it. There is some prep involved, but the beauty is it can all be done well in advance. Then, company comes, or the party starts and about 40 mintues later you have a phenomenal dinner. I serve it with a black bean and corn salad* with lime dressing. Garnish the enchiladas when out of the oven with fresh guacamole, sour cream and home-made salsa and serve with tortilla chips to dip and chase the goodies with. It is great for a buffet dinner. I use a whole roasted chicken, chill it then shred it instead of the boneless breasts. DO NOT DOUBLE THE CREAM AND BROTH! It is not supposed to be a 'sauce' just moisture for the enchiladas. So much more flavor and so little work. I am making it this week and finishing the meal with a Pot de Creme made with Kahlua. I will be the popular girl then! * Black Bean and Corn Salad II
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntcandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Having grown up in Mexico and being a big fan of the dish, allow me to suggest that you use tomatillos to make the salsa verde with -- canned are fine, although fresh are better. It gives a distinct and most excellent flavor to the dish. Also, if there is a Mexican food section at your supermarket, try the canned crema you'll find there. It's even better than heavy cream. Also worth trying is sour cream with this dish, added during the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Since poaching(or boiling) the chicken breasts will actually make the chicken breast dry out, try following alternatives: - use dark meat (thighs/drumsticks) and POACH gently - to save time, buy a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from your super-market - substitute sour cream for whipping cream - substitute queso fresco for the cheddar and/or Monterrey jack. Queso fresco has a texture similar to Italian ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
FANTASTIC recipe!! We had a little extra chicken filling mixture leftover, so I made little burritos with it throughout the rest of the week for lunches. Definitely enhances the flavor as the days pass! I'm also doing weight watchers, and found if I leave the monterey jack cheese off the top, the taste is not at all inferior... and I save 4 pts/serving. Make this recipe TONIGHT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! I've been making this dish for years and it is a hit - every time! I would normally make a huge batch, make one pan out of the mixture and freeze the rest :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These were really good, husband and young kids all liked it. I cut up a whole cooked deli chicken, used about 3/4 cup salsa and 1 chipotle pepper because I was afraid it would be too spicy for the kids. Next time I would try the 2 chipotle peppers. I did double the sauce as recommended. It made 1 large pan and 1 8x8 pan. I froze the smaller pan and can't wait to eat them again! They were great! Even better the next day (the sauce thickens up a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Made this for a birthday party last night-everyone enjoyed. I did make two changes: 1. used a rotisserie chicken from Costco for chicken meat - great time saver 2. did not put green chilies in the filling, instead I used them in the sauce which I substituted from another recipe on this site. The sauce is 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 c. flour- melt butter, stir in flour and cook several minutes. Stir in 2 c. chicken broth and heat until thickened. Off heat, whisk in 1 c. sour cream and 4 oz green chilies. Pour over enchiladas and then top with cheese. Bake per recipe instructions. The heat of this dish is on the milder side, so I think I will add green chilies to the filling next time. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Pretty darn tasty. My wife loves chicken enchiladas suizas and she is quite picky, but she loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved this recipe but I would definitely double the liquid as some say and I always use more cheese. The big secret here is to make it the day before and heat up next day for recipe at its best and to avoid that too watery look from the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These were great. I did end up baking them about 45 minutes with the foil over the top of the dish and 20 minutes with the foil removed. I think this helped make the dish even better compared to previous reviews. The sauce was pretty much non existent baking this long because it absorbed into the tortillas. The tortillas were not soggy at all, they were perfectly crisp. The flavor was excellent and we will make again. My husband said this is one of his favorite dishes he has had. They also reheat excellent. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States