Chicken Enchiladas Suizas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Since poaching(or boiling) the chicken breasts will actually make the chicken breast dry out, try following alternatives: - use dark meat (thighs/drumsticks) and POACH gently - to save time, buy a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from your super-market - substitute sour cream for whipping cream - substitute queso fresco for the cheddar and/or Monterrey jack. Queso fresco has a texture similar to Italian ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
FANTASTIC recipe!! We had a little extra chicken filling mixture leftover, so I made little burritos with it throughout the rest of the week for lunches. Definitely enhances the flavor as the days pass! I'm also doing weight watchers, and found if I leave the monterey jack cheese off the top, the taste is not at all inferior... and I save 4 pts/serving. Make this recipe TONIGHT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! I've been making this dish for years and it is a hit - every time! I would normally make a huge batch, make one pan out of the mixture and freeze the rest :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These were really good, husband and young kids all liked it. I cut up a whole cooked deli chicken, used about 3/4 cup salsa and 1 chipotle pepper because I was afraid it would be too spicy for the kids. Next time I would try the 2 chipotle peppers. I did double the sauce as recommended. It made 1 large pan and 1 8x8 pan. I froze the smaller pan and can't wait to eat them again! They were great! Even better the next day (the sauce thickens up a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Made this for a birthday party last night-everyone enjoyed. I did make two changes: 1. used a rotisserie chicken from Costco for chicken meat - great time saver 2. did not put green chilies in the filling, instead I used them in the sauce which I substituted from another recipe on this site. The sauce is 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 c. flour- melt butter, stir in flour and cook several minutes. Stir in 2 c. chicken broth and heat until thickened. Off heat, whisk in 1 c. sour cream and 4 oz green chilies. Pour over enchiladas and then top with cheese. Bake per recipe instructions. The heat of this dish is on the milder side, so I think I will add green chilies to the filling next time. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Pretty darn tasty. My wife loves chicken enchiladas suizas and she is quite picky, but she loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved this recipe but I would definitely double the liquid as some say and I always use more cheese. The big secret here is to make it the day before and heat up next day for recipe at its best and to avoid that too watery look from the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These were great. I did end up baking them about 45 minutes with the foil over the top of the dish and 20 minutes with the foil removed. I think this helped make the dish even better compared to previous reviews. The sauce was pretty much non existent baking this long because it absorbed into the tortillas. The tortillas were not soggy at all, they were perfectly crisp. The flavor was excellent and we will make again. My husband said this is one of his favorite dishes he has had. They also reheat excellent. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Enchiladas Suizas is my favorite dish from my local Mexican restaurant and even though theyre not the same, they are still really good! I definitely will be making my own changes to tailor it to my tastes, but I would happily make the original recipe again too. Makes a lot of food too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Suh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Outstanding! This is the best thing I have ever made from this website and I have made many items. For those trying to "thicken" the sauce, good luck. It's whipping cream and chicken broth - it's not meant to be thickened up. We make this recipe exactly as stated, but we only roll about 5 or 6 enchiladas in an 8x8 pan and halve the whipping cream / chicken broth / monterey jack items accordingly. Then we take the leftover mixture and freeze it in 3 separate containters (each holding enough for about 5 or 6 more enchiladas). When we want to make it, we just thaw the mixture, wrap it in tortillas and top with the whipping cream / broth / jack cheese. We eat this twice a month! Outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States