Chicken Enchiladas III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2000
Use cheddar or other cheese in place of "cheese food". Add chili powder to taste. Be sure to save plenty of cheese to put on top. I also like Jalapeno`s and black olives in this recipe too. This is also one of those "even better the next day" dishes. Remember also to cover every bit of the tortillas witht he mixture or they will go very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Mmmmmm...these were delicious. When hubby goes on these overnight trips for work, I am able to prepare anything I want for dinner. And I usually lean towards something "mexican" since it is my favorite. I made a few alterations to this recipe, but my results were fabulous. These are VERY cheesy, so I may reduce the amount to 3/4 of a package next time. I didn't have any canned chicken so I cut up 10 chicken tenderloins and sauteed them in oil. I replaced the evaporated milk with a 10oz can of enchilada sauce and didn't add the cumin since I was out. I had originally intended to use the mexican style velvetta cheese if I could have found it, but I ended up using the regular. I only added 1/2 a cup of sour cream and had plenty of sauce to pour over the enchiladas. Keep in mind...these do not have a "spicy" flavor. The green chilies only add a small amount of flavor if any at all, so be sure to add your spices accordingly. You could also melt all of the ingredients together in a crock pot and use this as a dip. That's exactly what I did with the small amount of chicken and sauce mixture I had left over. Terrific!! Thanks for sharing Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I loved this dish, and received many compliments and requests for the recipe. The only thing I did different was add 8oz. chopped green chiles, and used cheddar/jack cheese instead of the processed cheese. I added green onions on top and sliced black olives. I wish there had been leftovers, I have a craving for this! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This is similar to the way I make my chicken enchiladas, but almost every recipe at this site I have seen for these uses flour tortillas. We live in South Texas and no one has ever heard of using flour tortillas for enchiladas. We use only corn tortillas. I'll bet if you try them you will never go back to the flour ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
delicious. I boiled three chicken breast and shredded them and also added a packet of taco seasoning to the sour cream mixture instead of the cumin. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This was good, but I don't know if I would make it again...a little too cheesy for me and thats rare because I love cheese...also, it doesn't have much spice to it, but that could be changed by adding more cumin or maybe even some taco seasoning....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
My family loved this!! Instead of rolling up the tortillas individually, i just layered torn tortillas in the bottom of the dish. this made it quicker. i also used jalapeno peppers and another can of soup. i didn't use 16 oz. of sour cream....only 8. this dish is a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
My picky children would never eat a green chili pepper, so I pureed them in the blender and then added to my soup/cheese mixture. You could still taste the peppers, but no one knew they were there. I was afraid that this recipe would have too much liquid, so I reduced the sour cream by 1/2 and only used one can of soup. There was still plenty of liquid to cover the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This is absolutey wonderful!!! My family just loved it. This dinner is quick and easy and is very filling! Try it...you won't be disappointed :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I saw all the reviews stating "too much cheese" and thought, "Blasphemy! There's no such thing!" Never again shall I doubt. There was INDEED far too much cheese in this dish. Serving it with salsa helped, but next time I will absolutely cut down on the cheese and increase the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States