Chicken Enchiladas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
My entire family loves this recipe as-is. It is basic (which my kids like), but could easily be added to or enhanced, as many reviewers here have done. However, at some point, it's not even the same recipe, so one or two tips for readers are great, but if you've added or changed tons of ingredients, then just submit your own recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
My kids love enchiladas and request them for every birthday dinner. I use a clove of garlic instead of powder. I don't reserve any of the mixture. I fold it into the chicken and put a small amount along the bottomish of the tortilla, sprinkle with cheese and roll it up. Before I place them in a casserole dish, I coat the dish with green enchilada sauce. Once the dish is full, I cover with more sauce and cheese. I bake it off & garnish with green onion and serve them with a little sour cream. I cut fat and calories when I can, too. This makes one 11x13 dish & one 8x8, which I reserve for dinner the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
As written I can't rate it very high. The sauce just tastes like a canned soup casserole. (We've all been there.) But I added a medium size jar (about 24 oz - maybe a bit less) of Salsa Verde to the soup mixture. (Medium spiciness for me.) And that really makes for a yummy sauce. I also changed to corn tortillas and threw in some sauteed zucchini and corn, but the main thing is tweaking that sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I don't care for cream of mushroom so I use cream of chicken. Family and friends rave over this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious!!! I saw this recipe and had to try it because I love enchiladas and this seemed like a healthier version, although I did use heavy whipping cream that I had to use up from another recipe, but stuck to the exact measurements and it was fabulous!I topped it off with a drizzle of taco sauce, shredded cheese and cilantro:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe is a nice alternative to the traditional red sauce enchiladas. Although I do like the traditional red sauce, I have to limit my intake of tomato sauces due to heartburn. The only changes I made was to double the sauce and substitute yellow onions for the green onions. I also used fresh minced garlic instead of powder. These substitutions helped to give the sauce more flavor. I used 8" flour tortillas and it made 12 enchiladas with plenty of filling and topping! The 12 enchiladas fit nicely into a 9 x 13 glass baking dish. My husband and 10 year old son LOVED it! We almost ate the whole thing ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very bland. I added another can of green chilies and a jalapeno to add a pit more to it, but it was still bland. It wasn't bad, just not worth all the great ratings this has received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Whole family voted 'Yes!' to keeping this recipe on file! I did add 1 tsp each of chili powder and cumin to increase the flavor and I used Cream of Celery instead of mushroom (because that's all I had). They turned out wonderfully. Only change I'll make on the next batch is to double the sauce and chicken to make my tortillas fuller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Good, easy recipe. Will add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made as directed. Which is why I can rate this recipe because I didn't change it. This recipe was disappointing. This was very rich and in my opinion not worth the massive amount of calories. And I normally love rich foods. I will eat all of it, but not make again. Don't know what would have made it better so won't even be adjusting the recipe. ---- Now that it is the next day I am downgrading this to one star. I was trying to talk myself into eating the leftovers and felt sick at the thought. Not a good sign. I threw the leftovers away - and I normally love leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States