Chicken Enchiladas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
These were just alright. I had high hopes for the sauce as I'm looking for my own enchilada sauce recipe. The LaVictoria canned sauce is much more flavourful than this was. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used a whole rotis chicken. Do not use the water it calls for, and only use half the tomatoe sauce. I also only used half the taco sauce on top and added extra cheese on top. Everyone loved it except my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
i gave this 4 stars because i changed it to suit our tastes, but the changes made it 5 stars for us!! first, i boiled the whole chicken breasts in water until easily shredded. i sauteed the onion and green peppers in olive oil until soft, and then added the spices. i also threw in a can of green chili peppers. i sauteed 1 min longer, then added the tomato sauce and chili powder. i left out the water. i cooked that for 5 min at a simmer to meld the flavors, and then i added the sour cream and cheese. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great when I changed it up. Way too much fluid in the original. I went with only Hatch green chili sauce 15 oz. instead of water, tomato sauce and taco sauce, and the enchiladas were great. Still a bit wet but great. Also cooked 5-10 minutes more as 20 minutes didn't heat em up enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My family gobbled these up. Made a few changes, based on other reviewers' comments--and it was delicious. First, I poached chicken breasts in chicken broth, tomato sauce, chicken seasoning, minced garlic, and cumin, shredded it, and put it back in the liquid. Then, I took a few spoonfuls of the liquid out (to reduce watery texture) and added the onion, sour cream and cheese. I followed the rest of the recipe as indicated, rolling and topping the enchiladas and baking them. Really yummy. Next time, I would roll half for the kids, then add a pinch of cayenne and roll the other half for the adults. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
So delish! I've made these several times now and agree with the other reviews, modifications must be made or it is a sloppy mess. Easy fix: be sure to drain the chicken well, scratch the water off the list (not even sure why it's there), and when filling the tortillas, use a slotted spoon to drain the chicken from the mixture; reserve sauce. Next, take the reserve sauce and mix it with the taco sauce to pour over top. YUM! Note: it's very mild, so if you like it spicy don't be afraid to spice it up with extra chillies, jalapenos or hot sauce. This dish also freezes well for future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Oh My God, YES!!!! These were amazing!!! My brother (a very picky eater) and my 2 year old even loved them. Changes: The only thing I omitted was the 1/2 cup of water because the mixture was already runny enough, and I cooked the peppers and onions along with the chicken so that they would be soft and not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
great as is, but delete the water. Better if you sub the tomato sauce for salsa and taco sauce. I did 7 oz of taco sauce and 8 oz of salsa. Also subbed cheddar for mexican cheese. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Everyone seemed to like. Worth making again. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States