Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Good stuff! I was unable to find masa harina, but took the advice of others and used 7 small corn tortillas torn into small pieces. I was a little worried that I'd have soggy chunks in the soup, but by the time the soup simmered the tortillas had totally disolved. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe! I replaced the masa harina with 5-6 corn tortillas, sliced. I added a jalapeno and a can each of black beans and corn. Definitely will make this one numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used green enchilada sauce for this recipe. It was just as delicious as chicken enchilada soup that I had in a restaurant. SOOOOOO easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Yummy! I rarely follow a recipe to the T, but for the most part I did on this one. Once I started tasting I added some salt and chili powder for a little extra zing. This really does taste like the Chili's soup, which is a favorite. I was going to go get it car-side tonight and found this first, yay! I did put tomatoes and green onions in as well as some cilantro (all as garnishes) with crumbled tortilla chips on top. YUMMY YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This soup was pretty yummy, although I did not make exactly as directed. My changes included: cooking the chicken in about 3 tsp of taco seasoning, adding about 3/4 cup frozen sweet corn, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of black beans, and putting 1/2 can of green enchilada sauce and 1/2 can of red enchilada sauce. Adding the addtional canned ingredients did make it a little salty, though so next time I would probably use reduced sodium chicken broth or add more water and less broth/bullion. I also followed advice of others and used bite sized corn tortilla pieces in place of the masa harina. But I would definitely make again...maybe add some fresh avacado or green onion garnish! Great on a cool winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love this soup! This would also be a great enchilada sauce/gravy. I would just make this same recipe without the chicken and put the chicken and cheese in the enchilada. Yummy! I have already shared it with friends and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlenmcginnis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
You can tear up corn tortillas instead of using masa harina, they will dissolve and ticken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very good.. I added a can of drained corn and drained Rotel tomatoes with chilis... next time I will try doubling the cumin as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this exactly as written and it was delicious! Tasted just like the soup made at the deli near where I work. I was able to find the masa and was really glad I did, think it "fleshed" the soup out really well and since I whisked it well with water prior to adding I didn't notice a grittiness some people seem to have. It thickened beautifully and the texture it created was what I would expect from a soup like this. Only thing I'll change next time is to use a rotisserie chicken to save even more time. And maybe add some tomotoes and/or black beans. It'll be fun to experiment with, but this recipe is delish as-is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I should say for this being the fist Enchilada soup i have made using masa it was really REALLY good, i loved the flavor, however, the recipe as it is is kind of bland - great base for a good soup with possibilities, next time i think i will add some veggies or something - very good but missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States