Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used already cooked rotisserie chicken shredded in this recipe in place of the chicken and doubled the entire recipe because I have a large family. It was the best chicken enchilada soup I have ever had including chicken enchilada soup ordered at restaurants! If you like enchiladas, you will love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It is so much easier if you use jarred pre-crushed garlic with parsley,2 pre-cooked Tyson diced chicken in a bag which I cut up more finely and used hot enchilada sauce, so all you have to do is add cumin and salt/pepper to taste. Also, I used 2 cans of Campbells cheddar cheese soup instead of velveeta. I also turned off the heat at the end and put a cup or so of finely shredded colby jack and let it melt smoothly into the soup, which thickened it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic! I added red and green peppers and more of the spices than the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mathison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Just made this for dinner and everyone loved it! After reading some of the other reviews I used a 1/2 cup of the masa harina, added a can a corn, a can of black beans, and a can of stewed tomatoes that I mashed up. I didn't have any enchilada sauce so I made my own using 2 cans small cans of tomato sauce, a small can of diced green chili's and about 2-3 tablespoons chili powder depending on how hot you want it and omitted the chili powder called for in the recipe. I also didn't have any cheddar cheese so I used a Mexican blend cheese from Aldi. Garnished it with some more cheese and a dollop of sour cream and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It was wonderful... I did make a few changes. I used the entire 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce, 2 cloves of garlic (you can never have too much!), about 2/3 cup of onion. At the end I felt it needed a bit of color and zip. In went a can of RoTel petite diced tomatoes with green chilies,undrained...and it was the magic touch. My husband gave this a DOUBLE thumbs up! He loves the Chili's version, but says this was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I've made this several times...sometimes with homemade enchilada sauce, sometimes with jarred. Both are good. It's a simple, basic soup that's really good with a quesadilla or as a lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
If you like Chili's popular soup, I think you will like this recipe. I had very good luck with it. I prefer to bake my chicken wrapped in a little foil and shred it so that is how I prepared it for this recipe. I also used an extra can of chicken broth instead of the cup of water to add to the soup. I had mild enchilada sauce so I added extra chili powder and a little red pepper to give the soup a little more kick. Mesa de Harina is easy to find where I live and I often use it to thicken and add flavor to our favorite chili. I gradually added the Mesa to the 2 cups of water and whisked it until it was smooth. I gradually added the Mesa/Water mixture to the soup and whisked the soup in the pot. I added the entire amount but you could easily omit some of it if the soup becomes too thick. I did not have any problems with the texture being too gritty as mentioned in some of the less favorable reviews. I did not add the shredded cheese, allowing everyone to add it to their individual bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was fairly easy to make. I used frozen chicken and boiled it instead of thawing, then browning. I followed others' advice to slowly add the masa harina. I used a ten ounce can of enchilada sauce, which perhaps made it a bit too spicy for the kids, but those of us who like spicy thought it was great. We put a dollop of sour cream and some tortilla strips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made for dinner. Enjoyed by all! Very easy - all ingredients bought at Wal-mart, wahoo. Very hearty - perfect fall/winter soup. I served with taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States