Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic! I added red and green peppers and more of the spices than the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Just made this for dinner and everyone loved it! After reading some of the other reviews I used a 1/2 cup of the masa harina, added a can a corn, a can of black beans, and a can of stewed tomatoes that I mashed up. I didn't have any enchilada sauce so I made my own using 2 cans small cans of tomato sauce, a small can of diced green chili's and about 2-3 tablespoons chili powder depending on how hot you want it and omitted the chili powder called for in the recipe. I also didn't have any cheddar cheese so I used a Mexican blend cheese from Aldi. Garnished it with some more cheese and a dollop of sour cream and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It was wonderful... I did make a few changes. I used the entire 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce, 2 cloves of garlic (you can never have too much!), about 2/3 cup of onion. At the end I felt it needed a bit of color and zip. In went a can of RoTel petite diced tomatoes with green chilies,undrained...and it was the magic touch. My husband gave this a DOUBLE thumbs up! He loves the Chili's version, but says this was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I've made this several times...sometimes with homemade enchilada sauce, sometimes with jarred. Both are good. It's a simple, basic soup that's really good with a quesadilla or as a lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
If you like Chili's popular soup, I think you will like this recipe. I had very good luck with it. I prefer to bake my chicken wrapped in a little foil and shred it so that is how I prepared it for this recipe. I also used an extra can of chicken broth instead of the cup of water to add to the soup. I had mild enchilada sauce so I added extra chili powder and a little red pepper to give the soup a little more kick. Mesa de Harina is easy to find where I live and I often use it to thicken and add flavor to our favorite chili. I gradually added the Mesa to the 2 cups of water and whisked it until it was smooth. I gradually added the Mesa/Water mixture to the soup and whisked the soup in the pot. I added the entire amount but you could easily omit some of it if the soup becomes too thick. I did not have any problems with the texture being too gritty as mentioned in some of the less favorable reviews. I did not add the shredded cheese, allowing everyone to add it to their individual bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was fairly easy to make. I used frozen chicken and boiled it instead of thawing, then browning. I followed others' advice to slowly add the masa harina. I used a ten ounce can of enchilada sauce, which perhaps made it a bit too spicy for the kids, but those of us who like spicy thought it was great. We put a dollop of sour cream and some tortilla strips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made for dinner. Enjoyed by all! Very easy - all ingredients bought at Wal-mart, wahoo. Very hearty - perfect fall/winter soup. I served with taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this tonight and it is delicious! I added corn and pico de gallo...next time I want to add cilantro. Very good! Perfect recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was so easy and so delicious. It was a warm bowl of comfort. I will definitely make it again, though I may make an addition or two just for fun (totally not necessary). We thought green chilies and maybe corn could be good as well. Perfect as is. Thank you! This will be a new staple in our home. p.s. I'm not sure what the fuss was in some reviews with the masa harina. It's almost as easy as adding water to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States