Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
yummyyyyy!!!!!!! i love this soup !!!! it the bestt!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This recipe isn't bad, but it isn't fantastic either. To be honest, it is like a less exciting version of tortilla soup. Although this soup has an interesting creative flavor, it is sort of a one-note taste and doesn't have much texture. I would like to try this again with some tweaks. For example, adding green chiles and topping it with some sour cream. I believe that with some changes, this could be a better recipe. But as it is, there isn't a whole lot going on with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This recipe was really good after I tweaked it a bit. I didn't have the masa harina, so I used corn muffin mix and flour like another reviewer suggested, and I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used salsa instead. It was pretty bland so I added another 1/2 t cumin, 1/2 t red cayenne pepper, and 1/2 t chili pepper. After that it was really spicy but soo good! I also added 3-4 jalapeño slices from a jar, diced. I'll definitely make it again, and try to find the masa harina and enchiada sauce next time. Maybe that's what the problem was this time...either way it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
As a very green novice, I made some errors, and consequently, changes to the basic format of this recipe, but it turned out great by all accounts. Like some folks had previously suggested, I shredded corn tortillas (about 8-9 small ones) in replace of the masa harina. I'll definitely be making this in the future, though hopefully without as many rookie mistakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARCIL
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe! I followed other suggestions by just using corn tortillas as a thickener. I also doubled chili powder and cumin. This was delicious, and loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
THIS IS A MUST SAVE, MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH RAVED OVER IT. I USED ONLY 3/4 CUP OF MASA, SINCE WE DON'T LIKE A REAL THICK SOUP. I ALSO USED CHICKEN TENDERS, WHICH I COOKED IN OIL TILL DONE. I USED A SERRATED STEAK KNIFE TO SHRED THE MEAT, THUS REDUCING THE COOKING TIME BY 15 TO 20 MINUTES. ALSO IF YOU ADD THE MASA AT THE END IT KEEPS EVERYTHING FROM STICKING; IT ONLY NEEDS TO COOK A FEW MINUTES. I'M ON THE "I LOVE MY DIXON DIET" AND THIS COMPLIMENTS THAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The Masa Harina is a flour found in the Mexican food section of any grocery store. It's used to make tortillas. This soup is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I live in Alaska so having a variety of soups for the winter is a must! My family really enjoys this soup and I always make a little extra for left overs. I added a can of black beans and a can of cream corn to give it a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is outstanding!! It really is just like Chili's. I took some advice from some of the other reviews and I doubled up on the seasonings and only used about 3/4 c. of the masa harina. I slowly added it to the hot water and had no problems. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This soup was really good & my husband said it was a keeper. I added a 14 ounce package of frozen Southwest style vegis (corn, black beans, red peppers, poblano chilis & onions) for the last 15 minutes of cooking. Added some color, nutrition & flavor. Other than that I followed the recipe. Even my 1 year old daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States