Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Outstanding! This is perfect as is, in my opinion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Ok, so I can see how some people thought this was bland, as I did at first, but I was determined to make it great. So, here is what I changed to make it what I condsider a five star recipe. First off, I read what others said about the soup being too thick with the full amount of masa suggested-so I prepared as noted, but only added a little at a time until I got just the right consistency. (Which turned out to be about half) I took suggestions on adding 1 can of corn and 1 can of black beans-both drained. I also added 1 small can of diced green chilis.I used one cup of shredded chedder and one cup of velveeta. (a litte more of either cheese would not hurt)I did NOT use any salt, but instead kept adding chicken boullion granules until I reached my desired flavor...and alas, it is DELICIOUS!! NOTE~I went to 3 stores in search of something that simplt stated "Masa Harina" just as the recipe calls, however, I found nothing that had both of those two words cleary printed on the package. I called a gentleman that I work with that is hispanic and he said what I needed was something called Maseca (that is the brand) and it is an instant corn masa mix. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much I my husband I and do...it seems to get better the longer it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Overall it was a little bland for my taste. I served topped with sour cream, shredded cheese and crushed tortilla chips. My 4 year old asked me to always make it for her. She's gobbling it up now and just exclaimed, "It's all gone". Guess I'll get off the computer and refill her bowl. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
a little bland however adding a little hot sauce and definately add some toppings... Sour cream, green onions, jalapenos... It really is an authentic South of the boarder dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismmm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Really good. I used corn tortillas in place of the masa harina, was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I was searching for a recipe to use the masa harina I bought by accident instead of the regular flour tortilla mix (moral - don't shop in a hurry and read the entire package label.) I will make this again (and again.) I made it as written and it is excellent. Next time I will likely use homemade enchilada sauce from a recipe on this site to cut the cost a little. We ate it as soon as it was done and it was good; we ate some more a few hours later and it was superb - a little age is this recipe's friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Excellent, just like Chili's soup. I used all chicken broth instead of water. This soup tastes better on the 3rd day after you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My whole family loved it!! I did use salsa in place of the enchilada sauce & corn tortillas instead of the masa, though. Great way to use up leftover chicken or a store bought rotisserie chicken. Very easy & relatively quick, if you use pre-cooked chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I added 1/3 pound of extra chicken to give it more substance and it worked out great. Next time I would half the chili powder for my husband's sensitive stomach (although I loved the amount of spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Love this recipe, tastes just like chicken enchilades. Make sure you mis masa and cold water tbl. at a time until all dissolved helps out the texture. Also used 3 cans of broth and upd the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dollarbill22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States