Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by MARCIL
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe! I followed other suggestions by just using corn tortillas as a thickener. I also doubled chili powder and cumin. This was delicious, and loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
THIS IS A MUST SAVE, MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH RAVED OVER IT. I USED ONLY 3/4 CUP OF MASA, SINCE WE DON'T LIKE A REAL THICK SOUP. I ALSO USED CHICKEN TENDERS, WHICH I COOKED IN OIL TILL DONE. I USED A SERRATED STEAK KNIFE TO SHRED THE MEAT, THUS REDUCING THE COOKING TIME BY 15 TO 20 MINUTES. ALSO IF YOU ADD THE MASA AT THE END IT KEEPS EVERYTHING FROM STICKING; IT ONLY NEEDS TO COOK A FEW MINUTES. I'M ON THE "I LOVE MY DIXON DIET" AND THIS COMPLIMENTS THAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The Masa Harina is a flour found in the Mexican food section of any grocery store. It's used to make tortillas. This soup is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I live in Alaska so having a variety of soups for the winter is a must! My family really enjoys this soup and I always make a little extra for left overs. I added a can of black beans and a can of cream corn to give it a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is outstanding!! It really is just like Chili's. I took some advice from some of the other reviews and I doubled up on the seasonings and only used about 3/4 c. of the masa harina. I slowly added it to the hot water and had no problems. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This soup was really good & my husband said it was a keeper. I added a 14 ounce package of frozen Southwest style vegis (corn, black beans, red peppers, poblano chilis & onions) for the last 15 minutes of cooking. Added some color, nutrition & flavor. Other than that I followed the recipe. Even my 1 year old daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
A lady I work with made this and it was delicious. The only changes she made was so used green chilies instead of the read enchilada sauce and she used regular flour instead of the masa since she didn't have any masa. Very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLoyFam0309

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
delicious! my 3 year old and 10 month old both ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Ive tried similar recipes like this over the years & this is by far the best! I did make some adjustments to it tho, maybe youll find them helpful. I doubled all the spices including the Cumin, not the recipe. I used HOT enchilada sauce & withheld adding the cheese until the end as a garnish. I added green chillies & 1 tsp cayenne. I used the recommended amount of MASECA (masa harina, Kroger $1.59) and disolved it in 3 cups HOT water prior to adding it to soup base,and still adding an additional 1 c. water (a total of 4 c.) this kept the flavor but thinned out the consistency & kept it from getting a "gritty" texture. Best soup Ive ever had! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I also made this recipe and tweeked it to my liking.I didn't use as much masa as the recipe called for, added more broth and also added a small jar of salsa.And after cooking it on the stove I put it in the crockpot. It came out wonderful! Now when I make this I have to bring some to my dad, my in-laws,and to my friend! But the best part is that my husband loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States