Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Good. Definitely add goodies on top. Cilantro, jalepenos, sour cream, pico, etc. I think I might add a can of green chilies next time. Easy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Don't be afraid to tweak the soup. It needed a little extra flavor/spice for our liking so I used 1 cup Cheddar, 1 cup Cheddar-Pepper Jack for a little extra kick. I also added a bit of cayenne pepper, an extra 1 1/2 t. chili power, an entire 10 oz can of enchilada sauce rather than only the 1 cup called for in the recipe, an extra 1/2 t. of ground cumin, 1/2 t. of garlic powder. And because I used low sodium chicken broth, I needed to add a little salt to our personal taste. The finished product was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
wow! i made this for the first time yesterday and it is for sure a keeper! i didnt have the masa harina and couldn't make it to the store so instead i used regular all purpose flour and instead of mixing the one cup of flower with 2 cups of water, i used a cup of water and a cup of the liquid in canned corn. I also added the corn and it turned out amazing. I am tempted to try it with the masa harina but it was so good without it i don't really see the need to. Thank you so much for this awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Love this soup! Just like Chili's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I used meat from two turkey legs that I cooked in the crockpot overnight (really cost effective--you get about 8 legs for around four dollars and that will make about 4 pots worth of meat!) and homemade turkey broth. I used homemade enchilada sauce (Texas Enchilada Sauce) and only used a little masa harina, as I'm trying to watch my carbs. I did load up this soup with red pepper and chopped zucchini to add in more veggies. Tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeggyC
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
ok so I didnt have enchilada sauce so I used tomato sauce, and I slow cooked it for 6 hours.. but OMG this is better than the Chili's Soup! I am so glad I made so much! I hope it freezes well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wonderful Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I was at Chilis yesterday and tried this soup based on the the servers recommendation. I had not left the restauart and I had already brought A.R up on my phone seeing if I could find a dup. recipe! I stopped at store on way home and thought I had everything but I didnt notice the Masa harina until i got home and looked the recipe up on the laptop. Fortunetly I did get the corn torts. so I followed lots of other reviews and ground about a cup full in my blender, it seemed to work well but mine was not the same consist. as Chilis (tab more runny and not quite as smooth but close) I also followed others suggestions and doubled the seasoning. I wish I had only uped the seasoning by 1/2 but live and learn. I did use half velvetta and half sharp cheddar. It was late when I was done making so I did not try until this am...added extra cheddar on top along with a spot of s.c. I also bought an avacado to chunk up and put a piece on top. This was really good and I will totally make again (using masa H.) and I will probably tweek a tad more. Corn may be a nice thing to add as well. The cup i had at chilis was the best soup I have ever had (and I adore soups) my was not as good but I will work it out! give it a try...it is very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Yummy. We used 2 can sof black beans, 1 can cream corn, 1 can rotel, 1 can jalapenos and 1 can green chiles. I used between 2 and three cups of stock and 1/2 cup masa. Upped all of the spices and used double the enchilada sauce. Leftovers were served with some mexican rice mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
yummyyyyy!!!!!!! i love this soup !!!! it the bestt!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States