Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I used meat from two turkey legs that I cooked in the crockpot overnight (really cost effective--you get about 8 legs for around four dollars and that will make about 4 pots worth of meat!) and homemade turkey broth. I used homemade enchilada sauce (Texas Enchilada Sauce) and only used a little masa harina, as I'm trying to watch my carbs. I did load up this soup with red pepper and chopped zucchini to add in more veggies. Tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeggyC
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
ok so I didnt have enchilada sauce so I used tomato sauce, and I slow cooked it for 6 hours.. but OMG this is better than the Chili's Soup! I am so glad I made so much! I hope it freezes well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wonderful Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I was at Chilis yesterday and tried this soup based on the the servers recommendation. I had not left the restauart and I had already brought A.R up on my phone seeing if I could find a dup. recipe! I stopped at store on way home and thought I had everything but I didnt notice the Masa harina until i got home and looked the recipe up on the laptop. Fortunetly I did get the corn torts. so I followed lots of other reviews and ground about a cup full in my blender, it seemed to work well but mine was not the same consist. as Chilis (tab more runny and not quite as smooth but close) I also followed others suggestions and doubled the seasoning. I wish I had only uped the seasoning by 1/2 but live and learn. I did use half velvetta and half sharp cheddar. It was late when I was done making so I did not try until this am...added extra cheddar on top along with a spot of s.c. I also bought an avacado to chunk up and put a piece on top. This was really good and I will totally make again (using masa H.) and I will probably tweek a tad more. Corn may be a nice thing to add as well. The cup i had at chilis was the best soup I have ever had (and I adore soups) my was not as good but I will work it out! give it a try...it is very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Yummy. We used 2 can sof black beans, 1 can cream corn, 1 can rotel, 1 can jalapenos and 1 can green chiles. I used between 2 and three cups of stock and 1/2 cup masa. Upped all of the spices and used double the enchilada sauce. Leftovers were served with some mexican rice mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
yummyyyyy!!!!!!! i love this soup !!!! it the bestt!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This recipe isn't bad, but it isn't fantastic either. To be honest, it is like a less exciting version of tortilla soup. Although this soup has an interesting creative flavor, it is sort of a one-note taste and doesn't have much texture. I would like to try this again with some tweaks. For example, adding green chiles and topping it with some sour cream. I believe that with some changes, this could be a better recipe. But as it is, there isn't a whole lot going on with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This recipe was really good after I tweaked it a bit. I didn't have the masa harina, so I used corn muffin mix and flour like another reviewer suggested, and I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used salsa instead. It was pretty bland so I added another 1/2 t cumin, 1/2 t red cayenne pepper, and 1/2 t chili pepper. After that it was really spicy but soo good! I also added 3-4 jalapeño slices from a jar, diced. I'll definitely make it again, and try to find the masa harina and enchiada sauce next time. Maybe that's what the problem was this time...either way it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
As a very green novice, I made some errors, and consequently, changes to the basic format of this recipe, but it turned out great by all accounts. Like some folks had previously suggested, I shredded corn tortillas (about 8-9 small ones) in replace of the masa harina. I'll definitely be making this in the future, though hopefully without as many rookie mistakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARCIL
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe! I followed other suggestions by just using corn tortillas as a thickener. I also doubled chili powder and cumin. This was delicious, and loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States