Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this soup! It tastes just like the one from Chili's. I used leftover rotisserie for my broth (cover the whole thing with water and boil) and for my shredded chicken. I used the masa harina, I had it from another recipe, but using the corn tortillas sounds like a great idea too. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This soup is amazing! And it is easy too! My husband is from Guatemala /Mexico and he said it tastes just like his moms! Considering I am a gringa I would say I did good! This recipe is officially in my favorites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omjerusha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
excellent! I made my own masa harina since it's getting close to holiday time and we'll be making tamales anyway. also made my own enchilada sauce from enchilada powder like my mom does. smells and tastes just like chicken enchiladas. will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I initially tried to make this as close to the original as possible, but ended up making some pretty hefty modifications to fit my taste. I found it rather bland without any changes. I boiled the chicken in broth for about 10 min (until no longer pink) and then shredded. I used butter to saute the onion and garlic. I cut back to the masa harina (corn flour)to 2/3 c, after reading other suggestions, and was glad i did. it was plenty thick with that amount. I don't liked canned sauce and after reading the ingredients (pureed tomatoes, chili powder, onion), I decided not to use it. Instead, I used 20 oz of canned stewed tomatoes, pureed, in place of the enchilada sauce. To make up for the spices in the sauce, i doubled the amount of chili powder, cumin, and added 1/4 tsp cayenne. Check your chili powder ingred list, and adjust the salt level accordingly. Mine contains salt, so I didn't add any extra to the soup. I also waited to add the cheese after some questionable reviews, and I def think it needed it, although only half, and it really added flavor to the soup. I think i ended up adding another c of broth to thin out the soup to my preferred texture. My husband really enjoyed this with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
made the following changes and it was amazing! for cheese used 8oz of cheddar and pepper jack, chopped the chicken up until it was very fine, used 3/4 cup of masa harina (or something similar), omitted the 3 cups of water (added the masa harina after I had added everything and brought it to a boil), used one bottle of trader joes enchilada sauce, used 2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, added 1 can green chilis, corn, 2 cans of black beans and diced tomatoes, then at the end stirred in a small container of sour cream and served. It was very thick but I like thick soups so it was perfect to me! Yielded enough to serve 10! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Really yummy! Has a nice smokey flavor...being the genius I am, I put 1 can of enchilada soup (I think 12 oz?) instead of 1 cup so I added a little more mesaca mix and it turned out perfectly fine! also added some corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
First off I want to say that I give this recipe 4 stars if made as written. I feel for my taste it needs a bit more spice than what the recipe calls for. I do want to add that this is a great recipe that you can tweak to your own tastes and end up with a fabulous soup. I made as written the first time and while we liked it I felt it could be better, so I took the left over soup and added to it as some reviewers suggested 1 can of rotel tomatoes, 1 can of mexicorn and added 1 additional tsp. of chili powder and 1/2 additional tsp of cumen. I also feel that 1 full cup of Masa Harina is too much, I will use 1/2 cup next time. Give this one a try you will not be disappointed! My Son said it tasted like Chili's only better with the additions. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Doubled the recipe, used 1 whole freshly roasted chicken, added 2 cans black beans with liquid, 1 can green enchilada sauce, 2-3 oz. chipotle pepper salsa, 4 oz chopped green chilis, omitted 1 cup water. Topped with cheese, pico de gallo, and sour cream. Better than the restaurant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
i made this soup and it was great my daughter told me about chiles how she likes and i looked and found thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Simple and easy way to get a solid chicken enchilada soup. I actually found it better the next day because it was thicker. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States