Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
We love this recipe! It is fantastic! It is very close to Chili's recipe. I followed the recipe EXACTLY as is except for I increased the chili powder and cumin amounts to add spiciness and depth of flavor. We add shredded cheese and tortilla chips to garnish and eat with. Many reviews speak of using processed cheese and adding a ton of other ingredients like beans and corn. I specifically was looking for recipe that did not have all these other ingredients nor processed products. This recipe does not need all the extra stuff! I cook mostly from scratch and the least amount of processed foods as possible but I do use a 10 oz. can of Las Palmas medium Enchilada Sauce. It has the best flavor and least amount of added ingredients. I also use homemade chicken stock and usually use chicken I have already cooked off in the crock pot. Living in Texas, I have no issue finding masa harina or maseca, but when my bag runs out, I will buy organic next time. This soup is not too thick, I just don't understand the comments about that. Follow the directions correctly and the soup turns out perfect. I am so glad for this recipe; we can have 6 bowls of this soup made at home for the cost of just 1 bowl at Chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat923

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this and added corn, diced tomatoes, and a can of Rotel. I made some cornbread to go with it. It is really good! I didn't have any corn flour, so I used corn meal and my immersion blender in the soup before adding the extra veggies. It doesn't seem gritty to me though I don't mind the crunch of corn meal either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I cut the masa harina in half and added a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes and a sliced yellow pepper. YUMMMMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara N. Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I love the chicken enchilada soup at Chili's and I have to agree that this was pretty close to theirs. I modified the recipe slightly and it was still delicious. First, I didn't have canned enchilada sauce, so I made my own. I am Mexican and I learned to make my grandmother's enchilada sauce recipe. I boiled two dry California chiles in enough water to cover them. I added salt and powdered garlic to the chiles and brought them to a boil. I then removed the stems and put the chiles and water in the blender and puréed them. I strained the chiles to remove any leftover seeds and skin. I put the hot liquid back into the blender and added the masa harina. I blended the mixture and that resulted in a base that was not at all gritty. It was perfectly smooth. The only thing I won't repeat is that I didn't have cheddar cheese on hand. So, I substituted with mozzarella. That didn't add the flavor balance needed for this recipe. I will definitely make this again and make sure to have a sharper cheese on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made this tonight. Did the corn tortillas as suggested by another reviewer and added a few vegetables (black beans, tomatoes and fiesta corn) to make it heartier for my kids. MAN this was good!! Scaled back the cheese a bit but it was still phenomenal. I think it was better than chilis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Yum! This had a great flavor. I will make this again, but next time will use the masa harina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
BEST SOUP EVER !!! I JUST ate Chili's Enchilada soup yesterday and then came home to make this today. EXACT REPLICA !!! yahoo!!!! But - I did use corn tortillas instead of the Masa Harina. The corn tortillas melt right down to nothing and thicken up the pot while adding their taste to the soup. I'm addicted ! Added some sour cream and shredded cheese and a little tortilla chips and I'm hooked ! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I found this recipe today, and made it tonight. On it's own, it was good, but somewhat boring if you really love the Mexican favors.. After I made it, according to the recipe, I added some ingredients, and took other reviewers advice. I did use corn tortillas to thicken it, and add that special flavor. Black beans, pinto beans, and some whole kernel corn added to the body of the soup. I had no canned enchilada sauce, so used 1 1/2 pkg.'s of dry mix. I added some sliced jalapeños and cilantro. Hot sauce, fresh cilantro, fresh limes, corn chips, and cheddar cheese, were served on the side. We're having this again tomorrow, and I'll add sliced avacados as another side. I've never made enchilada soup before, and this was a great recipe to start with. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved it! I substituted the masa with maseca (it's used to make corn tortillas and can be found in the ethnic foods section) and the water for Mexican beer. I added jalapeños, black beans and corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My favorite soup to date... i do add a bit of cayenne to spice it up but other than that the recipe doesnt need any kind of tweaking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States