Chicken Enchilada Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I've made this soup 4 times in a month, it tastes exactly like Chili's restaurant enchilada soup which is my favorite. I only use 5 tortillas to put in the chix broth, so it's not as thick. I also add one can of chopped chilis. I take the rest of the tortillas and cut them into thin strips and fry them in a little olive oil to make crispy strips to put in the soup for a bit of crunch....delicious!!!!! I made it for a group of people yesterday, they raved and raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This is a wonderful creamy soup that is great when short on time. I use a roasted chicken (shredded), one large can of green sauce (no red sauce) and a small can of green chilis (no jalapeno). Add more broth if it gets too thick. I use a stick blender and give it a few whirls in the pot to smooth out the soup. top with grated cheese, sour cream, avocado, and tortilla strips. (My husband makes strips by cutting corn tortillas into 1/4"x3" pieces, laying them on a paper towel in the microwave and cooking for less than a minute. Watch it well as it will burn quickly!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I added a can of Nacho Cheddar cheese soup - really made it wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good, but I think it needed some tweaks to make it 5 stars. Ten tortillas is too many for the amount of liquid...I cut it to 8 and still needed to add more broth. Granted, it gave me more soup, but it was also a bit bland since I didn't have more enchilada sauce to match the amount of broth. I used fat free half-and-half just to cut calories and obviously fat! Next time I'll do 4 or 5 tortillas and maybe a bit of cayenne...and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! Very versatile, as it can be eaten as soup or used as a dip for chips or crackers. I have done both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dundee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I didn't have the corn tortillas so the soup was much thinner than it should have been. Added some extra spices- cumin and chili powder to kick up the flavor. Fresh chopped green pepper, cheddar cheese, and tortilla chips were an excellent topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Everyone loved it. We spread on it crackers, cocktails rye and dipped with tortillas - couldn't go wrong with any of them. Hotness Hint: If you don't want too much of a kick, eliminate the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
Tasted just like enchiladas! Very easy to make and delicious! Made enough for 4 generous servings. The tortillas did turn to mush, so if you don't like a chowder consistency, add them at the end and allow to soften slightly before serving. Either way, delicious!! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL soup. It is sooo much like the enchilada soup at a popular eating establishment. Trust me... you won't be sorry you tried it. Now I wasn't too sure about the corn tortillas with the chicken broth but it worked really well as a thickening base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Being a New Mexican native, I have to say this is perfect assembled and cooked to your exact specifications!! Thank you for sharing this recipe - I'm going to make a lot of New Mexicans jealous when I take this to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States