Chicken Enchilada Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL soup. It is sooo much like the enchilada soup at a popular eating establishment. Trust me... you won't be sorry you tried it. Now I wasn't too sure about the corn tortillas with the chicken broth but it worked really well as a thickening base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband and brothers loved this recipe...I was expecting to have leftovers because it was a big recipe, but nope! No Leftovers to speak of!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My family loved this! They are already ashking for more. The tortillas do get mushy, I thought I had done something wrong, but it turned out great! I used leftover turkey instead of chicken and added more broth. It is spicey, and I left off the jalepenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was good but a bit thick even though I had used more chicken broth. Everyone thought it was a bit spicy but I didn't. Served with sour cream, colby-monterey jack cheese and crispy tortilla strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This is a wonderful creamy soup that is great when short on time. I use a roasted chicken (shredded), one large can of green sauce (no red sauce) and a small can of green chilis (no jalapeno). Add more broth if it gets too thick. I use a stick blender and give it a few whirls in the pot to smooth out the soup. top with grated cheese, sour cream, avocado, and tortilla strips. (My husband makes strips by cutting corn tortillas into 1/4"x3" pieces, laying them on a paper towel in the microwave and cooking for less than a minute. Watch it well as it will burn quickly!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Yummy!! I added a can of "spicy" tomatoes and some corn. We topped it with some avocado, cheese and sour cream. Really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This soup was wonderful!! All the kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I usually buy a tortilla soup mix at the store. They were out, time was short and with a little variation based upon ingredients found in my kitchen, I found that this recipe formed a great base. I only had red enchilada sauce, heavy whipping cream, chicken broth, and a package of roasted corn chowder powder. I added 16 oz of water to thin it a bit. Turned out really good. I use shredded chicken, and top it off with minced cilantro, sour cream and tortilla strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I thought this was quite bad. The tortillas turned to mush when simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Very Easy to make and my family said it was just like at the resturants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States