Chicken Enchilada Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Mmmmm.... it's easy and tasty! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N&J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I really enjoyed this soup, and I did make some changes. Didn't know how big the tortillas were based on the recipe, so I bought the medium sized ones and cut up 3 of them for the base with the stock. Used 2c. chix stock, and used both cans of enchilada sauce. Very thing and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Donlon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. The enchilada sauce gives it a very different snokey chili flavor. I used fresh chicken broth that I freeze when I boil my chicken to shread the meat. I also used my fresh frozen shredded chicken. I added lots of fresh cilantro because we love it. My favorite to all tortilla soups are adding half a lime squeezed and dropped in. I still have my favorite tortilla soups, but this one was pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was a really easy and tasty soup. To save some time I did cook my chicken breast in the crockpot with some taco seasoning and then prepared the rest of the recipe as stated. I did add some cumin, frozen corn, and toped each bowl with some green onions, and sour cream. This gave it a true "enchilada" taste. I will make this again espically since it was so quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a great tasting recipe! I had to double the recipe to make enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a very fast and easy recipe. I did change some things though. Instead of using the red and green enchilada sauce (which I didn't have), I used a full reicpe of the Ten Munute Enchilada sauce from this sight. I then cooked the cut up chicken in the broth (I used a full can). When the chicken was done, I removed it and added the tortilla strips. I only used 5 tortillas for this. When the tortillas were mushy, I used an immersion blender to smooth the mixture out. I then continued with the recipe as written. I did add some frozen corn at the end. Next time I may add some black beans. I did top with shredded cheese and fried tortilla strips. This was really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was delicious! I couldn't find green enchilada sauce here in England, but it turned out great with just the red kind. I added some green and red peppers, and left out the jalapenos (it was spicy enough without them). I lightly fried up some tortilla strips to put on top for a little crunch too. Hubby has asked for this again! Very filling with a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This had a great texture to it. Very spicy, but good. I used fat-free half and half to reduce calories and fat. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I used all red enchilada sauce as that's what I had, and no jalepenos as I hate them. It was very good but I thought a bit on the hot side. I added some extra chicken broth and a bit of sugar to dilute and cut heat, but was still drinking water every 3 spoonfuls. (This was withOUT the jalepenos, but I also am unfamiliar with green enchilada sauce and perhaps it is milder than red?) I didn't find the tortillas mushy. I let them cook way down, even to the point they just started sticking -- they unstuck later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I noticed quite a few people didn't like the mushyness of the tortillas. You can do like I do when I make my own version of this soup. To thicken just mix your half and half and some flour together and use that to thicken the soup. Hope this helps:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States