Chicken Enchilada Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. The enchilada sauce gives it a very different snokey chili flavor. I used fresh chicken broth that I freeze when I boil my chicken to shread the meat. I also used my fresh frozen shredded chicken. I added lots of fresh cilantro because we love it. My favorite to all tortilla soups are adding half a lime squeezed and dropped in. I still have my favorite tortilla soups, but this one was pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was a really easy and tasty soup. To save some time I did cook my chicken breast in the crockpot with some taco seasoning and then prepared the rest of the recipe as stated. I did add some cumin, frozen corn, and toped each bowl with some green onions, and sour cream. This gave it a true "enchilada" taste. I will make this again espically since it was so quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a great tasting recipe! I had to double the recipe to make enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a very fast and easy recipe. I did change some things though. Instead of using the red and green enchilada sauce (which I didn't have), I used a full reicpe of the Ten Munute Enchilada sauce from this sight. I then cooked the cut up chicken in the broth (I used a full can). When the chicken was done, I removed it and added the tortilla strips. I only used 5 tortillas for this. When the tortillas were mushy, I used an immersion blender to smooth the mixture out. I then continued with the recipe as written. I did add some frozen corn at the end. Next time I may add some black beans. I did top with shredded cheese and fried tortilla strips. This was really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was delicious! I couldn't find green enchilada sauce here in England, but it turned out great with just the red kind. I added some green and red peppers, and left out the jalapenos (it was spicy enough without them). I lightly fried up some tortilla strips to put on top for a little crunch too. Hubby has asked for this again! Very filling with a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This had a great texture to it. Very spicy, but good. I used fat-free half and half to reduce calories and fat. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I used all red enchilada sauce as that's what I had, and no jalepenos as I hate them. It was very good but I thought a bit on the hot side. I added some extra chicken broth and a bit of sugar to dilute and cut heat, but was still drinking water every 3 spoonfuls. (This was withOUT the jalepenos, but I also am unfamiliar with green enchilada sauce and perhaps it is milder than red?) I didn't find the tortillas mushy. I let them cook way down, even to the point they just started sticking -- they unstuck later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I noticed quite a few people didn't like the mushyness of the tortillas. You can do like I do when I make my own version of this soup. To thicken just mix your half and half and some flour together and use that to thicken the soup. Hope this helps:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL soup. It is sooo much like the enchilada soup at a popular eating establishment. Trust me... you won't be sorry you tried it. Now I wasn't too sure about the corn tortillas with the chicken broth but it worked really well as a thickening base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband and brothers loved this recipe...I was expecting to have leftovers because it was a big recipe, but nope! No Leftovers to speak of!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States