Chicken Enchilada Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I subbed flour tortillas (just two) and used the full can of green enchilada sauce since it was just over a cup. I also used two cans of chicken, and fat free half-and-half. Next time I would use regular chicken breast. Overall very tasty! I also dumped in a can of Ro-tel for the tomatoes and jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This soup was excellent!! I added 1/2 tsp of chili powder and added a small can of diced chilis. I also used a large can of chicken...next time i would use an additional small can of chicken. I used 7 tortillas in the soup and with 3 of the tortillas, I cut them up, sprayed them with Pam and then put them in the oven under low broil. I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
First thing I have to say is that I NEVER follow a recipe exactly. I’m always adding or subtracting. I can’t give stars on the original recipe but the version I made is definitely five stars. I had no cumin so I didn’t add it but I did add some chili powder and a bit of taco seasoning. I cooked the broth and the strips in the pot and then added the red sauce, green sauce, milk (didn’t have half and half) and then I also added a can of Ro-Tel (Diced tomatoes and green chilies) and another small can of green chilies. I cooked it until it was heated but it seemed too soupy to me so I tore up a few more (maybe 6?) tortillas and threw them in and let them get soft. (I loved the tortillas pieces when I ate it.) I also added about a cup of the shredded cheese into the soup and let it melt. I dropped a dollop of sour cream in a bowl, spooned the soup over top and served it with some homemade corn chips. Excellent! My three year old had seconds! Also, it made a whole lot more than four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seansmoma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Although I could not find Green Enchilada Sauce ( I used 2 cans of the Red Enchilada Sauce.)......this was Terrific......hubby loved it and talk about easy!!!!! especially if you have already cooked chicken breasts!!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This soup is very good and filling. I'm not sure I liked it with the cream, I may try without it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Being a New Mexican native, I have to say this is perfect assembled and cooked to your exact specifications!! Thank you for sharing this recipe - I'm going to make a lot of New Mexicans jealous when I take this to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is very good. I only use half the tortillas because the soup gets so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
YUMMIES! This recipe was super easy and my husband and I loved it. I sauteed 2 chicken breasts in a skillet and pulsed them a few times in the food processors to get really nice shredded chicken, and I could only afford a big can of red sauce, so omitted the green entirely. I also added a can of cheddar cheese soup and a can of regular kernel corn, some paprika and ground white pepper. Served with shredded sharp cheddar and sour cream, and boy what a treat! I haven't seen my hubby dive into a soup like that EVER. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Only thing I did different was use 6 white 6-inch corn tortillas, and the consistency was perfect. I think shredded chicken works best for my tastes. This is definitely a "keeper" recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My DD loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States