Chicken Enchilada Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I have made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe. I found the corn tortillas really obnoxious. I also thought it needed a cheesier taste. This time when I made it a I used masa harina to thicken and added Velveeta to taste. I also added a can of diced tomatoes. It was exceptional and I couldn't keep myself away from it. It is excellent as a dip as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was not what I was looking for but I am so glad I found it! My husband is so hard to please tasted it and instantly fell in love! I have a son that dont even chew and he said this is awesome mom! There were no leftovers and they want me to make more now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry6pak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This turned out great. I cooked my chicken with some onions and jalepenos and added them all to the soup. Them sprinkled cheese on top before serving. We loved it thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Very, very good soup. I deleted the tortilla chips in it per suggestions. I wish it were a little thicker. I also fried some tortilla strips and sprinkled them on top when I served- loved the crunch! Next time I am going to try to thicken it up...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We really enjoyed this soup. Based on our own tastes I added 1 can of corn (drained), I can of Rotel (drained; instead of chopped tomato). I only used the red enchilada sauce and five corn tortillas. Black beans would be good too, but hubby is not a big bean fan so I didn't add them. I used Taco Seasoning I from the site for the season and used 2 tbsp. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My kids all loved this. We put Monterey Jack cheese, sour cream and sliced avocados on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I subbed flour tortillas (just two) and used the full can of green enchilada sauce since it was just over a cup. I also used two cans of chicken, and fat free half-and-half. Next time I would use regular chicken breast. Overall very tasty! I also dumped in a can of Ro-tel for the tomatoes and jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This soup was excellent!! I added 1/2 tsp of chili powder and added a small can of diced chilis. I also used a large can of chicken...next time i would use an additional small can of chicken. I used 7 tortillas in the soup and with 3 of the tortillas, I cut them up, sprayed them with Pam and then put them in the oven under low broil. I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
First thing I have to say is that I NEVER follow a recipe exactly. I’m always adding or subtracting. I can’t give stars on the original recipe but the version I made is definitely five stars. I had no cumin so I didn’t add it but I did add some chili powder and a bit of taco seasoning. I cooked the broth and the strips in the pot and then added the red sauce, green sauce, milk (didn’t have half and half) and then I also added a can of Ro-Tel (Diced tomatoes and green chilies) and another small can of green chilies. I cooked it until it was heated but it seemed too soupy to me so I tore up a few more (maybe 6?) tortillas and threw them in and let them get soft. (I loved the tortillas pieces when I ate it.) I also added about a cup of the shredded cheese into the soup and let it melt. I dropped a dollop of sour cream in a bowl, spooned the soup over top and served it with some homemade corn chips. Excellent! My three year old had seconds! Also, it made a whole lot more than four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seansmoma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Although I could not find Green Enchilada Sauce ( I used 2 cans of the Red Enchilada Sauce.)......this was Terrific......hubby loved it and talk about easy!!!!! especially if you have already cooked chicken breasts!!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States