Chicken Enchilada Slow Cooker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I have been making this for a while and this is the best chicken (tortilla soup) recipe I have found. I have made adjustments and added 1 can black beans (rinsed) and 2 TBSP dry ranch dressing mix and 1 can Rotel. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
What a great slow cooker soup! My husband had three bowls of this. I followed the recipe pretty closely, and made some additions to "veg it up". I added a small zucchini and summer squash, halved and thinly sliced, and a can of rinsed black beans. I used Rotel & just a little more chicken broth. Doubled the cumin (LOVE the stuff) and added some Penzey's Bold Taco seasoning to the mix. This was great! Plenty of left-overs went in the freezer. Sincere thanks for sharing your recipe, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I love soup and this is so easy, and ready when I get off work. I don't like corn so substituted a can of black beans, rinsed and drained. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made small changes only for my tastes, not because the recipe needed to be changed. I used all organic canned products when I could, I added one can organic drained/rinsed black beans, and one can organic diced tomatoes. I like more garlic so I threw more in. I did not add the extra salt. This was good, but I think it needs a little somethin'-somethin'. A little lime juice? Cilantro? I can't put my finger on it. As it is, nice and easy adaptable soup to throw in what you like that saves both on the food and energy budgets. NOTE: This made enough for 6 smallish Tupperware containers for dinner at work this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Absolutely Delish!!! I made it twice for my family. I increased the broth to 2 cans and added a can of black beans. It will be in my regular rotation once school and sports start again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is so easy and so adaptable. You can add any vegetables that you like or even pinto beans or rice. A great one pot meal for families on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
FABULOUS! My husband doesn't like spicy food and was hesitant to try it - but he loved it - and not too spicy at all! My chicken tenderloins weren't defrosted in the morning yet, so I cooked all day - about 9-1/2 hrs - and chicken fell apart. Other than that - followed recipe to the letter. Served with shredded cheese, little sour cream and sprinkled corn chips over top. Looking forward to finishing up the leftover today for lunch. Will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Awesome! My kids loved it and they are hard to please this days. I added the can of Rotel, black beans and chick peas. I also added the spicy ranch spice packet (3 teaspoons). These were all recommendations by other people on the site. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I liked the sound of this soup, but I didn't have time to make it in my crockpot. Instead, I cubed the chicken breasts and put them in my pot with the chicken broth (plus 1 can of water), diced tomatoes, and enchilada sauce to simmer. I omitted the green chiles because my husband doesn't like them. I subbed some taco seasoning mix for the cumin, chili powder, salt, and black pepper. I left the cilantro and corn out because I didn't have them on hand. For toppings , we added shredded sharp ched. cheese and lowfat sour cream to our soup. Even my husband who doesn't like any spicy foods loved this soup! Way to go, AmberNPetty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent soup! Very filling! Followed recipe to the T -- except I added black beans as others mentioned. Great family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States