Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I wanted to try this, but did not want it to be like "dip" -- after reviewing comments and suggestions, I made the following changes and WoW! was it good! It was more like the casserole I was hoping it would be. First, I used corn tortillas instead of flour (I read too many comments about flour tortillas turning to paste) I used cream of celery soup (a favorite)instead of chicken. I cooked the chicken using taco seasoning for chicken and added about 1c corn and 3/4c black beans once the chicken was fully cooked. I also eliminated 1/2 of the sour cream and used a lite version. It came out delicious and can't wait to experiment further. Thanks for all the suggestions, they were very helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Would definitely DEFINITELY make again. Guests loved it. I did make 2 changes: one, I spread a little layer of refried beans on the chicken and left out the kidney beans; two, when I was stir frying the sliced chicken, I added a little water and a package of taco seasoning to the chicken for xtra flavor. Wow, was it absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Used corn tortillas instead, added a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles, used black beans instead of chili beans, cooked the chicken in taco seasoning, wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Oh my goodness! This was SO delicious that I don't even have words to do it justice. My husband loved it, I loved it, and I will definitely be adding this to my "will make again" list. The only change I made (if you can call it a change) was using chipotle salsa instead of your standard run-of-the-mill salsa. Turned out FANTASTIC! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. It's a great find for all who stumble upon it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACEFEVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Living In: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This dish quickly became a family favorite. My Italian Father-In-Law doesn't like mexican food of any kind, but he LOVES this. I have served this dish for many, many dinner guests in my home, but I have also prepared it for friends that have just had surgery or were ill. Now, it is the most requested meal from my friends and family. Very easy to prepare and sure to become your family's favorite as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I used light sour cream to cut back a little on the calories, I don't really think it affected the taste of this casserole too much, though I think 16 oz. of sour cream was WAY too much, and also 4 cups of cheese was excessive. I think 8 oz. of sour cream and 2-3 cups of cheese would have made it a lot better and wouldn't have masked the taste of the beans and the salsa. This wasn't very spicy, so if you like that-you may want to add some diced tomatos and chilies. I probably will alter it like this when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This a good recipe. I did change it a little. I used half the sour cream, cream of celery soup, 3 cups of cheese and I omited the chili beans. I also added black beans and corn and replaced the flour tortillas with corn. Ok I guess I changed it more than a little, but overall this is a great recipe and was a big hit. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This casserole has become a staple in our family. I never use the whole can of cream of chicken though because it has a tendency to overwhelm the mixture. Other than that - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe and my husband loves it! It's easy to prepare and very hearty. I switched to corn tortillas instead of flour because I thought the flour ones turned out with a slimy texture. I also use "hot" chili beans and top with a few sliced jalepenos because we like spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I love this stuff and didnt change a thing! Soo super good, oh my goodness, the leftovers are in some ways better. It kind of "melds" the flavors together. I look forward to making this and having it for lunch the next day! If your a beef eater, my mom and dad love this with ground beef in place of chicken. Keep that in mind, for a different taste also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States