Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was excellent but I did lighten it up a bit. I used 1/2 the sour cream and a light version, as well as a light version of soup and cheese. I added chopped green pepper and yellow pepper and used 2 lbs of ground turkey with taco seasoning. We loved it and are keeping it in our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This recipe was sooo delicious!! I'll admit, I was a little leery at first when mixing the salsa, sour cream, soup and beans together...it was an unappetizing pink color, but once out of the oven, it was totally fine and smelled heavenly! I used cream of celery soup and black beans on the advice of other reviews. I also nixed the chopped onion because I was too lazy to cut it up. My husband loved this dish, and so do I! We will be making this often! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Easy & tasty recipe. I used a can of Rotel instead of the salsa as that is what I had on hand. Definately a keeper: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this last night, and my husband said it was the best thing he's ever eaten, including food from fancy restaurants. He said he's never been more satisfied with a meal (and he is a picky eater). He told me that if I kept up this quality of cooking he wouldn't have to fire me. XD I did make some changes, but I am reviewing this recipe because I owe all of the credit to the base recipe: I nixed the sour cream, used black beans instead of chili beans, used white corn chips instead of flour tortillas, and cooked the chicken in a jalapeno taco seasoning. I used a Mexican cheese mix in half the quantity the recipe called for, and I added some fresh spinach in the middle for color. I served it with Goya refried red beans and fresh, homemade lime soda (1 bottle club soda, juice of 1.5 limes, 1/2 cup sugar). 'Twas nommy and healthy, minus the sodium content which was definitely through the roof. I am heavy-handed and was only able to divide the ingredients into two layers, but it didn't change the taste at all, I'm sure. (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah “Sarha” Oboda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Followed this recipe exactly and we were so disappointed! Has some kind of sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Good to go recipe..I have made this a few times. I use the corn tortillas/chips. Keeps things from getting too soggy. I also added green chiles to the sour cream mix (cut back a bit on the sour cream) because I love them! Make sure to spice your chicken with something to your taste. I have used chili power or garlic or taco seasoning. I topped it with diced tomato & green onion when just before serving. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have been fixing this dish since 2006 and realized I had never written a review on it...so here goes! This IS my family's all time fave. We have exchange students from all over the world and this is also the dinner they request time & time again. After making it so many times, I have come up with some worthwhile shortcuts & tips. 1) I use chicken tenders that I cook in the microwave ahead of time and cool completely (I got tired of burning my fingers while shredding hot chicken, but don't over cook it!) 2) add the chicken to the entire soup mixture and mix...I didn't see any benefit in not doing this and it skips a step while assembling the layers 3) add a can of chopped green chilies (yum) and/or chopped jalapenos if you like a little heat 4) try using black beans instead of chili beans 5) I always have to cook this about 15 minutes more than the recipe calls for 6) let it stand before serving, although in my house that never happens. It is runny if you don't let it rest, but my family doesn't care...they can't wait to eat it! This is simply thee best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was pretty good, forgot to buy beans so I didn't have them in the casserole, could definitley use some though. I might try other enchilada casserole recipes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drpolz
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Whole family loved it.Even my picky kids tour it up.My wife is eating it for breakfast right now.Thanks for a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States