Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Good basic easy casserole. Noone in the family diliked it. It was a little on the bland side. But a good starting point. I used low fat soup, cheese, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Great recipe. I did use corn tortillas and I used almost double the amount, torn into pieces instead of strips. Also refrigerated salsa vs jarred. When I made my shopping list I wrote down chili beans, and to me chili beans are the ones with chili sauce added, so that's what I got. When putting dish together found my mistake since it states the beans are to be drained. However, I did not drain the suace off. Recipe should specify plain red or kidney beans. I did add some taco seasoning to chicken as previous reviewers noted. It makes a very soft textured casserole, so if a you prefer a bit of a crunch sprinkle the top with crushed tortilla chips before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was spectacular! And I agree, even tastier the next day. I also cut the sour cream in half. I used flour tortillas and thought they were fine, although they were a bit pasty the next day. I'm not complaining, though- still freaking fantastic. Also, I used Newman's Own tequila lime salsa, which added a great, subtle lime flavor. I'm definitely going to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
After reading the comments, I made the mixture (minus half the sour cream) and wrapped it in the tortilla like typical enchiladas. I used half of the cheese and sprinkled it on top. I baked it for almost an hour. It wasn't runny! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was very good. I too, used corn tortillas instead of flour and added a can of black beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Great Recipe....my mistake I added super hot salsa which kinda made my family's tummy upset...next time I will be sure to add a mild salsa. Everyone loved it. Super easy to make. Did use corn tortillas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Tasted sooo good! Followed other suggestions re: 1/2 the sour cream, added black beans instead of kidney beans, added diced tomatoes and chilies, and cooked the chicken in taco seasoning. Husband thought it was great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Tasty recipe. Topped with sliced black olives, sliced green onions and sour cream. Yum! Served with tortilla chips and mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was very good! I never seem to follow a recipe exactly. I take what I like and tweek it, make it my own. But I review only on the original recipe. If I don't like my end result, it wouldn't be fair to blame the recipe. That being said, I did make changes to this one. First of all, I fried the cut strips of CORN tortillas in canola oil because I hate the gumminess of a baked flour one. I cut the sour cream back to 8 oz. and used 3 chicken breasts since this was only serving 4. I also baked my chicken in water, seasoned with garlic powder, seasoned salt, pepper and taco seasoning. I mixed the sour cream, salsa, cream of chicken soup, onion and shredded chicken together. Placed the crispy tortillas in a sprayed 9x13 pan. Topped with the chili beans, and spread the chicken mixture on top. I topped it off with 2 cups of shredded cheddar, covered with foil and baked for 25 minutes at 350F. My husband and sons loved it as did I. Because I think those little changes made it a 5 star recipe, I only gave this one a 4. I just know that we wouldn't have liked the flour tortillas as much, and frying them made them even crispier, which was the only big change to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was excellent but I did lighten it up a bit. I used 1/2 the sour cream and a light version, as well as a light version of soup and cheese. I added chopped green pepper and yellow pepper and used 2 lbs of ground turkey with taco seasoning. We loved it and are keeping it in our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States