Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was pretty good, my husband said I could make again. I used half the amount of sour cream & salsa; my kids don't tend to like recipes that call for them, but I wanted to to try it. I used homemade chili; little confusing, because unless I'm mistaken, you don't typically "drain" chili, just beans right? I've never seen chili beans, just beans mixed with meat, you know, chili. So I assumed chili and I did not drain. I also did not use quite so much cheese, just enough for a thin layer each time. I liked it, and two of my kids liked it. One didn't, and the other two didn't try. Thanks for a good recipe, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These taste awesome and are easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Made this many times. Have finally gotten smart and make double and freeze a casserole to eat later. It took me awhile to find a cream of chicken soup that didnt have artificial flavors or preservatives (for my sensitive kids) but the effort was worth it as this is a favorite recipe around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I just served this casserole for dinner with a friend I hadn't seen in awhile. I wanted to have something special to eat, so I decided to experiment with this recipe. I'm soooo glad I took the risk. It was really delicious!!! I just made a few changes. I didn't have any chicken on hand, so I used ground beef instead. After I drained the ground beef I stirred in taco seasoning and 1 can of enchilada sauce. I used corn tortillas instead of flour and I left them whole instead of cutting them into strips. After I put a layer of ground beef down, I spread refried beans, then I put a layer of the sour cream mixture. I only used half the container of sour cream, and I used onion powder instead of diced onions, because I was on a time crunch. Other than that I left the sour cream mixture the same as the recipe. I was a little nervous as I put it together, but it had a delicious flavor!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Per the recommendations of other reviewers, I cooked the chicken in diced tomatoes with green chilies and taco seasoning. I also used corn tortillas based on some reviews. I used fat free sour cream and 2% cheese as well. This was a big hit with adults and kids alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thelizel
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Great with mexican/spanish rice, chips and homemade salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelizel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Excellent recipe. I made a few changes to make it a bit more authentic. I used corn tortillas, added 2 fresh chopped jalapenos, and black beans instead of chili beans. I also have experimented with different types of salsa. Don't be afraid to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Can you freeze this? My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovingLimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I read all the reviews for this recipe and actually opted to impliment some on my first try...I too used 1/2 the sour cream (8oz). I used a rottisserie chicken that I cooked in taco seasoning and water. I used cup up corn tortillas, 1 can of black beans, 1 can of Bush's Chili Beans, sm can of sliced black olives, cr of chic soup, 2 cups of shredded Cabot Cheddar cheese and a 16 oz jar of Frontera Medium Salsa. All in all a good recipe. It was a little more calorie laden than I usually like but a good "comfort food!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Just made this for supper and it got rave reviews! I had to make a few substitutions based on what I had but still turned out great and slightly healthier. I used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream and black beans instead of chili beans. (By the way, the cream mixture would make a great chip dip!) I also seasoned the chicken breasts with taco seasoning while they were cooking. All my guys in the house went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States