Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was excellent. A bit of background: I make my own chicken broth, using 4-5 lbs. of gizzards per batch. I HATE throwing them out when done but have you ever tried eating that many gizzards? It gets real old, real fast. So I purchased a meat grinder, put them through and then used about a pound in this recipe. Everybody LOVED the result, even my three children aged 5, 7 & 8. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Excellent - used 4 frozen chicken breasts cooked in the Crockpot for 5 hours. Then shredded the chicken and added a little cumin and a lot of onion powder. Then I combined 8 ounces of light sour cream, 16 oz medium picante sauce, 1 8 oz bag low fat cheese and 2/3 of an 8 oz bag of regular cheddar cheese, 1 can of healthy Campbell’s cream of celery soup, 1 can of Bush's canned chili beans drained. Instead of the flour tortillas I used 12 6" corn tortillas cut in strips and made 3 layers. Cooked covered 40 minutes at 350 degrees. Then cooled 15 min before cutting. Topped with sour cream and jarred chopped jalapenos. This tasted just like chicken enchiladas without all the work. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was pretty good, my husband said I could make again. I used half the amount of sour cream & salsa; my kids don't tend to like recipes that call for them, but I wanted to to try it. I used homemade chili; little confusing, because unless I'm mistaken, you don't typically "drain" chili, just beans right? I've never seen chili beans, just beans mixed with meat, you know, chili. So I assumed chili and I did not drain. I also did not use quite so much cheese, just enough for a thin layer each time. I liked it, and two of my kids liked it. One didn't, and the other two didn't try. Thanks for a good recipe, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These taste awesome and are easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Made this many times. Have finally gotten smart and make double and freeze a casserole to eat later. It took me awhile to find a cream of chicken soup that didnt have artificial flavors or preservatives (for my sensitive kids) but the effort was worth it as this is a favorite recipe around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I just served this casserole for dinner with a friend I hadn't seen in awhile. I wanted to have something special to eat, so I decided to experiment with this recipe. I'm soooo glad I took the risk. It was really delicious!!! I just made a few changes. I didn't have any chicken on hand, so I used ground beef instead. After I drained the ground beef I stirred in taco seasoning and 1 can of enchilada sauce. I used corn tortillas instead of flour and I left them whole instead of cutting them into strips. After I put a layer of ground beef down, I spread refried beans, then I put a layer of the sour cream mixture. I only used half the container of sour cream, and I used onion powder instead of diced onions, because I was on a time crunch. Other than that I left the sour cream mixture the same as the recipe. I was a little nervous as I put it together, but it had a delicious flavor!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Per the recommendations of other reviewers, I cooked the chicken in diced tomatoes with green chilies and taco seasoning. I also used corn tortillas based on some reviews. I used fat free sour cream and 2% cheese as well. This was a big hit with adults and kids alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thelizel
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Great with mexican/spanish rice, chips and homemade salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelizel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Excellent recipe. I made a few changes to make it a bit more authentic. I used corn tortillas, added 2 fresh chopped jalapenos, and black beans instead of chili beans. I also have experimented with different types of salsa. Don't be afraid to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Can you freeze this? My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovingLimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States