Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
We loved this recipe..I made it for my boyfriend. He wanted it again the following weekend! I left out the green chiles since the tomatoes had chiles. I also omitted the chicken broth. I was not sure if cheese spread was cream cheese? I used Mexican shredded cheese...it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie in training

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was so good! I can see myself making this again this week. I did not add the cream of chicken soup due to the reviews of it being too runny. I also did not include the salsa and put it in a side dish. I used black beans, it was just awesome! I would suggest to use 1/2 cup onions, seemed like there were not enough in there for me. I added chopped green onion on the top for a finishing touch. All gone, not even a bite left for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RitaW
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
ok, so, I read the reviews and changed up the recipe just a bit! First off I had to cut the recipe in half because well, I don't have that many people to cook for! So I used 2 chicken breasts instead of weighing out a pound, then instead of cubing, I boiled and shredded my chicken. it helps hold things hold together a bit more, and then after mixing the cheese into the sauce, when layering, I sprinkled a little more in there! I also added olives to the top instead of the jalepeno's. This turned out delicious, and eating it as left overs has been PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I would like to thank everyone who has tried this recipe and reviewed it. The changes made are great! I've never had a problem with it being runny. I think I made a mistake with the amount of tortillas. Use what you need to make the layers. This recipe has been here for years! Thanks to all that tried it, and thanks to those who suggested changes. A recipe is just a guide, go from there and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
To make this for two toddlers in my family, here's what I did (I made in an 8 by 8 square pan), because there's only 4 of us 1 can of diced tomatoes DRAINED, about 10 oz of MILD enchilada sauce, 1 can of cream of chicken, dash or two of both onion and garlic powders, 2 cooked and diced chicken breasts. I omitted the chilis, and chili powder. Like someone else suggested, I saved about 3/4 cup of the sauce BEFORE I added the chicken so that I could put the sauce on the bottom of the pan and on the very top layer, on top of the last layer of tortillas I put on. Also, I used grated cheddar cheese ,not the american/velveeta. I give this 5 stars this way. It's mild enough for toddlers, but still has enough flavor for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This recipe is great. I plan to use it also as a dip for tortilla chips. It is pretty spicy but my husband loves spicy food...but that can be adjusted for preference. Will make this recipe over and over. As others stated, I left out the broth so it wouldn't be so runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
this recipe was very yummy. I took out the chicken broth and i didnt add the cheese to the mixture. I layered like a lasgna and added the cheese on top with tortilla chips to help thicken it up and it was very delicous. my husband absolutley loved. I also created little appetizer snacks by using the tosito scoop chips. I put a little chicken with a little mixture in the chip and added the cheese on top and they were great snacks during cookouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe turned out great with a bit of tweaking. To save time, (and money!) instead of buying and cooking chicken breast I bought a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket and stripped it of its meat...it shredded well! Like others, I didn't use the cheese spread but instead used grated old cheddar on top of every layer. Because I didn't need to melt the cheese into the mixture as I would have if I used the cheese spread, I omitted the step of heating all of the ingredients together on the stove and just mixed them up in a bowl. I used both of the soups but not the chicken broth. When I mixed the ingredients, I put everything in the sauce together except for the chicken pieces and reserved a cup or so and then added the chicken. I used the reserved sauce for spreading on the bottom of the casserole under the first layer of tortillas and for on top of the last layer. I used more tortillas then they called for, and did three layers...tortillas, chicken sauce, cheese, repeated it, and then finally one last layer of tortillas topped with a thin layer of the reserved sauce and then grated cheese. The casserole was not runny at all, I believe the extra top layer of tortillas helps absorb some of the extra liquid. I also drained my chiles and tomatoes well. I also made this dish the night before and took it to a friend's for supper then next day, it cut out in perfect squares that we easily reheated in the microwave and everyone had seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchevyshortbox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Everyone who tries this, LOVES it. Fabulous recipe..thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This always gets rave reviews at potluck dinners. I followed others advice and omitted the cr of celery soup and chicken; added more enchilada sauce; used shredded cheese. Try heating/cooking the tortillas (briefly) on a stove before layering on the casserole. It really brings out the flavor. Everyone who tried it really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States