Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Absolutely loved the flavor but it was too runny. I'm wondering if a dump cake style preparation would work. Sort of like a combined chicken and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My husband loved this! I served it with black olives and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Jones Lind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AjA85
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very quick and easy!! I substituted flour tortillas, added black beans, (drained and rinsed) used shredded cheese, a rotisserie chicken shredded, and no chicken broth. I had one odd tortilla left and I cut it up and put it on top just so it didn't go yo waste. I accidentally grabbed "chile enchilada sauce" but it actually tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renate
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
When I make this again I will put the chicken in the crockpot before I leave for work so all I have to do is assemble when I get home. Also, I think I'll leave the green chilies out next time, the girls thought it was a bit spicy. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Per reviews I omitted broth, absolutely wonderful and super easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly (except I subbed shredded cheese for processed cheese). A lot of reviewers complain that it was too runny, but if you cook down some of the liquid, it comes out as it is supposed to. The second time I made this I made the following changes: add a can of black beans, used all low sodium/low fat soups, subbed no sodium diced tomatoes for tomatoes w/ chiles (drained), add jalapenos, omit broth, sub shredded cheese for processed cheese, omit the extra step of cooking on the stovetop. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This casserole was so tasty, I'm making it for the second time in less than two weeks! I do agree with another review that it's best to drain tomatoes and use real cheese instead of processed. The first time I made it, I used chicken broth as directed, but it was a bit runny. This time I'm only using about a third of what was suggested in the recipe and it's going to be PERFECT! Highly recommend this one and will add it to my favorites for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fleshstorm87
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Awesome recipe...changed it a bit 2... used Valetta jalapeno cheese, as per everyone's advice no chicken broth, can of rotel,sliced jalepenos on top... Last 5 minutes topped with pepper jack shredded......Mmmmmmm !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
We liked it but the processed cheese overpowered everything. My husband and I called this nacho casserole because that's exactly what it tastes like. You couldn't taste any other flavors except the cheese and chicken. We might make it again but will have to tweak it per some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britstoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Pretty good but only with the alterations I made. I can't imagine making this the way the recipe actually states. I think it would've been a runny, bland mess had I made it to the t. That said, here are the changes I made. I cooked my chicken the way I would as if I were making chicken tacos and thats by taking chicken in a pan, with a tablespoon of butter and sauteeing and then adding a package of taco seasoning. I'm sooooo glad I did this. I think it really saved the dish. I, like other reviewers also omitted the broth and cream of celery. I used corn tortillas and everything else spice wise was the same. However, even though I seasoned my chicken, in the end the casserole overall was still just slightly too bland for my tastes. Next time I make this I might try adding another can of chilis and extra chili powder or do more taco seasoning for the chicken. Also, I have to note that a lot of people are saying that it's still too runny after not using the broth and extra can of soup. This was not the case for me. It did come out very nice and stayed in one piece when I plated it. And it also reheated beautifully. Recommend this one but only with the tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States