Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Yes yes and yes! This was outstanding. I made the following changes. Omited the chicken broth, drained the tomatoes, sauteed the onion w/garlic, added 1 can of rinsed and drained black beans, used a total of 16oz of shredded mexican cheese on top of each layer (instead of the processed cheese), cut the corn tortillas into strips for easier eating and finally added some sliced jalapenos and black olives. With these changes, it wasn't runny at all, a nice thick cheesy casserole. I highly recommend you make this recipe with my changes! It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe turned out great with a bit of tweaking. To save time, (and money!) instead of buying and cooking chicken breast I bought a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket and stripped it of its meat...it shredded well! Like others, I didn't use the cheese spread but instead used grated old cheddar on top of every layer. Because I didn't need to melt the cheese into the mixture as I would have if I used the cheese spread, I omitted the step of heating all of the ingredients together on the stove and just mixed them up in a bowl. I used both of the soups but not the chicken broth. When I mixed the ingredients, I put everything in the sauce together except for the chicken pieces and reserved a cup or so and then added the chicken. I used the reserved sauce for spreading on the bottom of the casserole under the first layer of tortillas and for on top of the last layer. I used more tortillas then they called for, and did three layers...tortillas, chicken sauce, cheese, repeated it, and then finally one last layer of tortillas topped with a thin layer of the reserved sauce and then grated cheese. The casserole was not runny at all, I believe the extra top layer of tortillas helps absorb some of the extra liquid. I also drained my chiles and tomatoes well. I also made this dish the night before and took it to a friend's for supper then next day, it cut out in perfect squares that we easily reheated in the microwave and everyone had seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchevyshortbox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I gave this dish 5 stars and 2 thumbs up because it really is tasty. This turned out beautifully because I left out the chicken broth. I'm sure it would have been runny if I had added it like other reviewers have stated. It was a little on the spicy side but that can be easily adjusted by the temperature of the green chilies. My grandfather who is not fond of "hot or spicy" foods had more than one helping. This is totally a casserole dish if you leave out the access liquid. Great recipe Kyle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Honestly, the sauce is to die for...very tasty, but as a layered casserole...its way too runny. Maybe if you added more chicken to thicken it. OR instead of layering the tortillas, i might try tearing them in bits and mixing them in with the casserole OR as another reviewer suggested, skip the tortillas altogether and just use the sauce as an appetizer dip by shredding the chicken instead of chunks. I'm not giving up on this one yet (it really is good) but it just doesn't seem to cook as intended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Husband has already requested I make this again. I substituted flour tortillas for corn. I would decrease the amount of liquid--maybe drain the tomatoes or leave out broth. Oh, and since I HATE velveeta, I just omitted it and topped each layed with shredded real cheese. Over all, a pretty good recipe. Super simple to make, which is always a big fat plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
This recipe came out a little bit runny...I think next time I will cut down the chicken broth. It was really tasty though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I usually like to make recipes as is before I tweak them, but after reading the recipe and the reviews I did omit the broth, I also didn't have velvetta so use a mexican blend cheese. I was surprised at how well this turned out. Everyone liked it and there were no leftovers. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
BEAUTIFUL! A few changes...1) I eliminated the chicken broth and cream of celery. I just mix a can of enchilada sauce with cream of chicken. 2) I saute some onions, sliced garlic, and red bell pepper and add it to the mix. 3) I make sure to drain the can of tomatoes and green chillis because doing that and eliminating the chicken broth leaves the mixture with a nice thick consistency 4) I add a can of drained black beans! 5) I layer torn up corn tortillas, chicken mixture, and cheese. Then I top it with sliced black olives and jalapenos from my garden!!! It is even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a pretty good dish with some alterations. I took heed to previous reviews and omitted the cream of celery and chicken broth. It certainly does not need the extra moisture. I used green enchilada sauce, shredded colby-jack, sauteed the onions with a clove of garlic, and added a can of black beans. Though the cassrole was touch runny, it had a pleasing flavor and is ideal for cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mplsdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Very good. I agree that the chicken broth should be omitted. I added Black Beans and used Shredded Cheese instead of the processed cheese. I also used chicken thighs instead of the white meat. The dark meat is a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States