Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Thanks to all the reviews I did make changes to the recipe and the result was delicious. Substituted taco seasoning for the chili powder; used 16 oz grated Mexican blend cheeses instead of the processed cheese; and used 12 corn tortillas. Omitted the chicken broth; and drained the diced tomatoes and chiles. Assembled casserole in layers of tortillas, chicken mixture, then cheese. Baked for 1 hour. The casserole was not runny. Served with black olives, fresh salsa and sour cream. Everyone enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The sauce for this is fantastic!! But this came out runny, and I had even omitted the chicken broth, drained off the tomatoes, and ripped up the tortillas. But luckily I had flour tortillas on hand as well, so for each bowl I ripped up a large flour tortilla and then topped it with the chicken mixture. It turned out amazing! The flour tortilla soaked up the sauce and made this one of my favorites from this website, thanks, Kyle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY624

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This recipe has potential. I followed a few suggestions given by others, however, there still seemed to be something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was good--not my kind of dish but hubby and my son gave it 4.5 stars, so it'll have to be a part of the rotation. I too omitted the chicken broth and it was still a bit watery. Oh, and I bet the sauce would be great as dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I won't say that this was terrible, because it isn't. It just does not have any real flavor. The canned soups overwhelm the whole thing. Save yourself some time and just eat the Cream of Celery soup, because that is all that this tastes like. I even tried to make it spicer by using diced jalapenos instead of green chiles and salsa con queso instead of the cheese spread. The upside was that the preparation was very simple. . . the downside is that we did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I didn't have any garlic powder, and since recipe called for such a small amount, don't think it made much of a difference. I also didn't have any Velveeta, so put in shredded Mexican cheese. The last thing I changed was based on some other reviews. The chicken broth, I lowered the amount to 3/4 cup. Turned out very good, even good the next day heated up. Give it a try, you won't be dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Yum Kyle! Everyone LOVED it! I only made a few small changes due to the reviews. Ommitted most of the broth. Here's how I did it. I first braised the chicken and shredded it when cool. (You brown the chicken on both sides, then turn down the heat and cover. Cook about 15-20 minutes) While the chicken was cooking, I mixed all the sause ingredients together, minus the can of broth. (everything but the tortillas and chicken- oh and I used cream of mushroom instead of celery because it's what I had) I added in the broth that dripped out of the cooking chicken. Then I spread a couple of blobs into a large oblong pan that had been greased. Then 1/2 the tortillas tortillas (I used q 12pk), all the chicken and I added olives. Next spread 1/2 the remaining sause mixture, and the rest of the tortillas (I cut them into large strips) and finally the remaining sause mixture. Mine was cold because I'd made a few hours in advance and refridgerated so it took an hour in the oven. The last 10 minutes, I topped with about 1 1/2 cups meduim cheddar cheese and more olives. A layer of corn would have been good added on top of the chicken layer. It was SO yummy! Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Followed the recipe except left out the extra chili's; used 10 oz rotel & it was WAY to liquidy. Baked for 1 hour & it wouldn't thicken. After sitting in the frig overnite it thickened. No one liked it, we had a Mexican Christmas lunch & this was the FLOP. Threw the recipe away & this will NEVER be served in my house again. I get recipes off this site all the time & this was the only bad experience I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It is supah-spicy just like everyone says, but was balanced nicely with sour cream. I added a can of black beans and felt like this dish was good enough to be at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
We loved this recipe..I made it for my boyfriend. He wanted it again the following weekend! I left out the green chiles since the tomatoes had chiles. I also omitted the chicken broth. I was not sure if cheese spread was cream cheese? I used Mexican shredded cheese...it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie in training

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States