Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a good recipe. I decided to follow the recipe as is, despite the "runny" reviews. I did however, use shredded cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese. My casserole came out runny as well, but by the next day all the extra liquid had been soaked up. It's just my husband and I eating, so we had leftovers for a few days. It got better and better. My mother used to make something like this, but she would use broken tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas. Maybe that would also help with the runniness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was a disappointing recipe. My husband and I both really enjoy Mexican influenced recipes and this had no Mexican flavor. It tasted like a bunch of soups thrown together that caused a very mushy casserole. We will not be having this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I changed the recipe a bit also. I used sour cream instead of the chicken broth in order to maybe thicken it up a bit. It was still a bit wet and the cream made it really rich. I also substituted Cream of Mushroom for Cream of Celery. The kids loved it and the grown-ups each had two bowls. Next time no sour cream, just on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
The whole family enjoyed this one. Rather than use cooked and diced chicken, I cooked raw chicken breasts in the broth, and shredded it. I used shredded cheddar jack instead of processed cheese. We had the left overs the next day for lunch, it was good re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is very good. I did change a few things per the other reviews. Omitted the chicken broth completely, used shredded Cheddar cheese, and replaced the tomatoes for chopped red pepper. Yum! Thanks, Kyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Thanks to all the reviews I did make changes to the recipe and the result was delicious. Substituted taco seasoning for the chili powder; used 16 oz grated Mexican blend cheeses instead of the processed cheese; and used 12 corn tortillas. Omitted the chicken broth; and drained the diced tomatoes and chiles. Assembled casserole in layers of tortillas, chicken mixture, then cheese. Baked for 1 hour. The casserole was not runny. Served with black olives, fresh salsa and sour cream. Everyone enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The sauce for this is fantastic!! But this came out runny, and I had even omitted the chicken broth, drained off the tomatoes, and ripped up the tortillas. But luckily I had flour tortillas on hand as well, so for each bowl I ripped up a large flour tortilla and then topped it with the chicken mixture. It turned out amazing! The flour tortilla soaked up the sauce and made this one of my favorites from this website, thanks, Kyle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY624

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This recipe has potential. I followed a few suggestions given by others, however, there still seemed to be something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was good--not my kind of dish but hubby and my son gave it 4.5 stars, so it'll have to be a part of the rotation. I too omitted the chicken broth and it was still a bit watery. Oh, and I bet the sauce would be great as dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I won't say that this was terrible, because it isn't. It just does not have any real flavor. The canned soups overwhelm the whole thing. Save yourself some time and just eat the Cream of Celery soup, because that is all that this tastes like. I even tried to make it spicer by using diced jalapenos instead of green chiles and salsa con queso instead of the cheese spread. The upside was that the preparation was very simple. . . the downside is that we did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States