Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was good for a quick dinner. I cooked the chicken in about 1/2 c. water with the seasonings and used that for "broth". Added both cans of soup, Rotel (tomatoes/chilies) & green enchilada sauce. I also cut the tortillas into strips and used shredded cheese rather than velveeta (I don't keep that on hand). This may have changed the texture of the casserole, but it didn't seem very soupy to me. I made this for my husband and toddler before leaving for a different dinner function and they ate half the dish by themselves. I've now eaten a good size portion and barely have enough to call leftovers (for a family of 2 1/2-that's saying something). So even if you play with the ingredients slightly, I don't think this recipe can fail much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
We loved this! It was relatively easy too. Made some alterations as per other reviews: strained the tomatoes & omitted the chicken broth. I used 2 cans of the cream of chicken (instead of celery) and used the Mexican Velveta also....although I left out a bit of the 16 oz so that I could sprinkle the top of the casserole with shredded chedder cheese. I also cooked the chicken in some crushed red pepper, black pepper, and the garlic powder for flavor. This dish was not runny and nicely spicy. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was very yummy & we had leftovers for about three days, great recipe. Lots of flavor even my picky 2 yr. old loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I doubled this recipe for our family reunion. I did take others' advice and nitched the chicken broth. I cut down my prep time by using a cut up rotisserie chicken instead, and real shredded cheddar cheese. It came out fantastic. Everyone, including the kids, chowed down on this casserole. Family members asked for a copy of the recipe! Doubling the recipe made so much that we had it a 2nd night! Even doubling this recipe and springing for the added cost of rotisserie chickens and cheddar cheese, the meal can fit into anyone's budget! About $1 per person! Will be sure to make again, just smaller portions ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is a pretty good casserole recipe. I used a bone-in split chicken, which I boiled and picked. This also gave me the broth for the recipe. I also used 12 tortillas, and a generic velveeta from Kroger. It was a queso blanco with Jalapenos which added a little spice. All in all, a great go to recipe which could be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was easy and great!! I did change a few things. I found a can of cream of mushroom and chicken soup, so only used 1 can of soup. I also omitted the broth. I used flour tortillas instead of corn, torn into pieces (easier for the kids to eat). The picture shows slices black olives, so I did that, too. To make this even faster, I used canned chicken. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Pretty good overall. I would have given it five stars, but it was too hot for my taste. Made it exactly as directed. Gooey, cheesy, and fattening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I made it last night but did do a few tweaks based on other reviews. I left out the chicken broth. I added a can of black beans (drained & rinsed) and I used shredded mexican cheese instead of velveta. I just had leftovers for lunch and I must say... it tastes even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Great recipe. However, I did make a few modifications. I cooked chicken tenders in the crock pot with a jar of chunky homemade salsa on low for 6 hours. I used this as the chicken meat, after I added the soup. The result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
5 stars with the following changes: omit the onion, add a layer of black beans (1 can is enough), and top with cheddar cheese. A lot of people said the sauce was too runny - those are usually the same people who substitute shredded cheese for the velveeta. I used velveeta and it was the perfect consistency. My suggestion is if you're going to substitute shredded cheese, omit the chicken broth and drain the can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States