Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
It was tasty, although too salty for my preference, so I felt bloated for a day or 2. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese and only added a little chili powder. I'd love to find a variation or another recipe that cuts out the high amount of sodium added from the condensed soups and enchilada sauce. My husband loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Even my picky husband liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe is easy and awesome. I too modified it and cut out the broth. I will also use a rotisserre chicken to make it even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I poached the chicken breasts in chicken broth beforehand. Left out the chicken broth and the cream of celery soup - it turned out great! My b/f says don't change a thing but I'd add even more corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My whole family LOVED this!!! This is definately a keeper! I had thought I was going to make chicken tacos so I had cooked the chicken with a packet of taco seasoning. It ended up adding a nice spice though and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a good, tasty recipe. This what I added/changed: For one cup of broth, I added 1 cup of my cooking liquid flavored with bouillon granules and black pepper. I added a can of black beans and a can of Mexi-corn (I drained everything). I added one tsp. of cumin. I used a 16 oz. block of Mexican Velveeta. I sprinkled a Mexican blend of cheese in between each layer (8 oz. in all). I also added black olives at the end like a previous reviewer. Mine came out the perfect consistency and after 10 minutes it was like a solid Italian lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.TYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
BEAUTIFUL! A few changes...1) I eliminated the chicken broth and cream of celery. I just mix a can of enchilada sauce with cream of chicken. 2) I saute some onions, sliced garlic, and red bell pepper and add it to the mix. 3) I make sure to drain the can of tomatoes and green chillis because doing that and eliminating the chicken broth leaves the mixture with a nice thick consistency 4) I add a can of drained black beans! 5) I layer torn up corn tortillas, chicken mixture, and cheese. Then I top it with sliced black olives and jalapenos from my garden!!! It is even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this last night for dinner. Had good flavor, but based on other reviews I did leave out the chicken stock. I thought it was good, but a little too saucy for me, this is however being very picky on my part. I added cilantro to mine, but kept with the basic version...wanted to see what I felt needed to change after actually making it per the given recipe. Heat was good enought for my 5 & 6 years olds, so it's very kid friendly. I just felt it needed more spices or someting to sop up all those extra juices/cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was good for a quick dinner. I cooked the chicken in about 1/2 c. water with the seasonings and used that for "broth". Added both cans of soup, Rotel (tomatoes/chilies) & green enchilada sauce. I also cut the tortillas into strips and used shredded cheese rather than velveeta (I don't keep that on hand). This may have changed the texture of the casserole, but it didn't seem very soupy to me. I made this for my husband and toddler before leaving for a different dinner function and they ate half the dish by themselves. I've now eaten a good size portion and barely have enough to call leftovers (for a family of 2 1/2-that's saying something). So even if you play with the ingredients slightly, I don't think this recipe can fail much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
We loved this! It was relatively easy too. Made some alterations as per other reviews: strained the tomatoes & omitted the chicken broth. I used 2 cans of the cream of chicken (instead of celery) and used the Mexican Velveta also....although I left out a bit of the 16 oz so that I could sprinkle the top of the casserole with shredded chedder cheese. I also cooked the chicken in some crushed red pepper, black pepper, and the garlic powder for flavor. This dish was not runny and nicely spicy. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States