Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is a pretty good casserole recipe. I used a bone-in split chicken, which I boiled and picked. This also gave me the broth for the recipe. I also used 12 tortillas, and a generic velveeta from Kroger. It was a queso blanco with Jalapenos which added a little spice. All in all, a great go to recipe which could be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was easy and great!! I did change a few things. I found a can of cream of mushroom and chicken soup, so only used 1 can of soup. I also omitted the broth. I used flour tortillas instead of corn, torn into pieces (easier for the kids to eat). The picture shows slices black olives, so I did that, too. To make this even faster, I used canned chicken. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Pretty good overall. I would have given it five stars, but it was too hot for my taste. Made it exactly as directed. Gooey, cheesy, and fattening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I made it last night but did do a few tweaks based on other reviews. I left out the chicken broth. I added a can of black beans (drained & rinsed) and I used shredded mexican cheese instead of velveta. I just had leftovers for lunch and I must say... it tastes even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Great recipe. However, I did make a few modifications. I cooked chicken tenders in the crock pot with a jar of chunky homemade salsa on low for 6 hours. I used this as the chicken meat, after I added the soup. The result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
5 stars with the following changes: omit the onion, add a layer of black beans (1 can is enough), and top with cheddar cheese. A lot of people said the sauce was too runny - those are usually the same people who substitute shredded cheese for the velveeta. I used velveeta and it was the perfect consistency. My suggestion is if you're going to substitute shredded cheese, omit the chicken broth and drain the can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a good recipe. I decided to follow the recipe as is, despite the "runny" reviews. I did however, use shredded cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese. My casserole came out runny as well, but by the next day all the extra liquid had been soaked up. It's just my husband and I eating, so we had leftovers for a few days. It got better and better. My mother used to make something like this, but she would use broken tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas. Maybe that would also help with the runniness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was a disappointing recipe. My husband and I both really enjoy Mexican influenced recipes and this had no Mexican flavor. It tasted like a bunch of soups thrown together that caused a very mushy casserole. We will not be having this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I changed the recipe a bit also. I used sour cream instead of the chicken broth in order to maybe thicken it up a bit. It was still a bit wet and the cream made it really rich. I also substituted Cream of Mushroom for Cream of Celery. The kids loved it and the grown-ups each had two bowls. Next time no sour cream, just on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
The whole family enjoyed this one. Rather than use cooked and diced chicken, I cooked raw chicken breasts in the broth, and shredded it. I used shredded cheddar jack instead of processed cheese. We had the left overs the next day for lunch, it was good re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States