Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These are so easy to make and have great favour. I did make a couple of changes but only to make prep time even faster. Instead of chicken breast I used a whole roasted chicken from the grocery store and removed all the meat and chopped it up (skin removed), I also used a 4 cup pack of kraft tex mex cheese, 2 cloves fresh garlic instead of powdered that I sauted with the onions. I mixed it all together in a bowl (did not heat on the stove first) then layered like lasagna, topped with remaining cheese and baked. It was fastastic, and my boyfriend liked it better then the Enchiladas that take me a whole day to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I liked this, my husband loved it. I couldn't make it true to the recipe because I didn't have everything on hand but it still worked out well! I substited the can of cream of chicken soup for cheese soup, omitted the processed cheese, chicken broth, and the can of diced green chiles. I used hot enchilada sauce and added cumin and black beans and sprinkled the top with shredded cheese. It was VERY spicy, much to the delight of my husband. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Followed directions to the letter, except I used five large flour tortillas (torn up) instead of the corn tortillas (family preference). Served with a salad and tortilla chips on the side (to dip in the cheesey sauce). My 17 year-old son and two of his friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This meal was pretty good but a little too runny even without the chicken stock. We also found it a little too spicy. I will probably try to make this again but make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
A few changes and it was great! -Omit chicken broth -Use shredded cheddar cheese layered on top of chicken mixture -Saute onions beforehand Also, I prefer to shred the chicken rather than cube it. Was the perfect consistency with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This recipe was an incredible hit with my entire family, even the picky ones! Some of the other reviewers noted it was dry, but I found it to be extremely moist and flavorful. I did take the advice of some other reviewers and substituted real cheese for the processed cheese, and it turned out beautifully! I also shredded the chicken instead of cubing it, and it spread evenly throughout the casserole. Great recipe, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
It was tasty, although too salty for my preference, so I felt bloated for a day or 2. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese and only added a little chili powder. I'd love to find a variation or another recipe that cuts out the high amount of sodium added from the condensed soups and enchilada sauce. My husband loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Even my picky husband liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe is easy and awesome. I too modified it and cut out the broth. I will also use a rotisserre chicken to make it even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States