Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This meal was pretty good but a little too runny even without the chicken stock. We also found it a little too spicy. I will probably try to make this again but make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
A few changes and it was great! -Omit chicken broth -Use shredded cheddar cheese layered on top of chicken mixture -Saute onions beforehand Also, I prefer to shred the chicken rather than cube it. Was the perfect consistency with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This recipe was an incredible hit with my entire family, even the picky ones! Some of the other reviewers noted it was dry, but I found it to be extremely moist and flavorful. I did take the advice of some other reviewers and substituted real cheese for the processed cheese, and it turned out beautifully! I also shredded the chicken instead of cubing it, and it spread evenly throughout the casserole. Great recipe, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
It was tasty, although too salty for my preference, so I felt bloated for a day or 2. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese and only added a little chili powder. I'd love to find a variation or another recipe that cuts out the high amount of sodium added from the condensed soups and enchilada sauce. My husband loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Even my picky husband liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe is easy and awesome. I too modified it and cut out the broth. I will also use a rotisserre chicken to make it even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I poached the chicken breasts in chicken broth beforehand. Left out the chicken broth and the cream of celery soup - it turned out great! My b/f says don't change a thing but I'd add even more corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My whole family LOVED this!!! This is definately a keeper! I had thought I was going to make chicken tacos so I had cooked the chicken with a packet of taco seasoning. It ended up adding a nice spice though and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a good, tasty recipe. This what I added/changed: For one cup of broth, I added 1 cup of my cooking liquid flavored with bouillon granules and black pepper. I added a can of black beans and a can of Mexi-corn (I drained everything). I added one tsp. of cumin. I used a 16 oz. block of Mexican Velveeta. I sprinkled a Mexican blend of cheese in between each layer (8 oz. in all). I also added black olives at the end like a previous reviewer. Mine came out the perfect consistency and after 10 minutes it was like a solid Italian lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.TYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
BEAUTIFUL! A few changes...1) I eliminated the chicken broth and cream of celery. I just mix a can of enchilada sauce with cream of chicken. 2) I saute some onions, sliced garlic, and red bell pepper and add it to the mix. 3) I make sure to drain the can of tomatoes and green chillis because doing that and eliminating the chicken broth leaves the mixture with a nice thick consistency 4) I add a can of drained black beans! 5) I layer torn up corn tortillas, chicken mixture, and cheese. Then I top it with sliced black olives and jalapenos from my garden!!! It is even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States