Chicken Enchilada Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Delicious. Had to alter with ingredients on hand, which is why four stars and not five. Used the meat from store bought rotiserrie chicken, no green chiles on hand, so added some medium salsa for the heat. No processed cheese so used an 8 oz bag of shredded cheddar, not melted in the mixture, but layered on top of chicken mixture like you would do in a lasagna. Flour tortillas instead of corn, and added a can of drained and rinsed black beans. Left out the chicken broth because I thought it would make the chicken mixture too soupy. No chili powder, so added some cumin. Well recieved by adults and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Tasty but still a bit runny...even though I omitted the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was quite soupy and very mushy. I would suggest making it with shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
3/5 for dinner, but 5/5 for a chip dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Yummy with these changes: crushed corn chips instead of tortillas, 1/8 tsp cayenne to the sauce, 1 tsp garlic powder, and a mixture of jack/cheddar cheese for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I added sour cream to the broth mixture and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
After reading the reviews, I knew I had to cut back on the liquid, my son has a bad gag and can't tolerate mushy. I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 large jar salsa, 1 can Rotel, 1 heaping tbsp minced garlic, 1 tsp homemade taco seasoning, 1 heaping tbsp fat free sour cream and 3 or 4 tbsps water from poaching the chicken. I seasoned the chicken with 1 tsp homemade taco seasoning and sliced an onion to place underneath when I poached the chicken. I used small corn tortillas which I cut 3 in half for each side of the pan, then placed 3 whole ones down the middle, used 18 tortillas all together. I used Texmex cheese blend for the processed cheese spread which we don't eat. I sprayed the foil with Pam spray so it wouldn't stick to the cheese, 1 hour was perfect, let sit at least 15 minutes to serve easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We didn't care for this much at all. We felt all the cream soups diluted the wonderful mexican flavors that we so enjoy from enchiladas. It wasn't terrible by any means, but for all the extra calories, & subdued flavor, we will stick with our own tried & true enchilada recipe. This just made us want to fix our standard version:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Hart Bolton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Photo by jjc248
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was so awesome. I did not add the cream of celery soup,and only added 1/2 cup water.Added shredded cheddar cheese to the top(which I grated myself),will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great recipe! Followed other reviews and omitted chicken broth, added black beans, and substituted 8 oz. of Mexican cheese blend for the processed cheese. Also cut the tortillas into strips. Turned out creamy. This has been requested as the chicken enchilada dinner for now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States