Chicken Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
VERY GOOD*****I modified it a bit with adding less chicken & used fresh tarragon for my dumplings. It does take longer than listed however it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is the only recipe I have ever found that I didn't modify drastically. I only cut out the salt (the saltiness from the broth is plenty), blended everything but the flour and whisked it in and added more broth. Awesome, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
The soup itself was fantastic!! but the dumplings not so much...it's also VERY time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent. Savory. I did the dumplings in two batches, so there was room in the sauce pan. Used rotisserie chicken, which stayed moist. Used Low Sodium Broth. Cut most of the salt. Made 1/2 batch...next time it will be full batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was excellent with a few modifications. Colleen L's suggestion to reduce the chicken and add 1 tsp. baking powder was great, the dumplings formed just fine. I also omitted the terragon. Also, save yourself some work and reverse steps 2 and 3 and forget about draining the dumplings. I made the soup mixture first, then boiled the dumplings and poured the whole thing into the soup - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This sounded so good and to me that is part of what makes a good cook if you can look at a reipe and tell if it's good. Well, I lost out on this one. The soupy part was good, but the chicken dumplings were not. The texture is what was so bad. I didn't like the tarragon flavor in this recipe, though I like tarragon. The dumplings were too soft to work with and the recipe as a whole was very time consuming. What we didn't eat, we froze. We will probably discard the dumplings and replace them with oysters....my husband's suggestion. Anyway, sorry SILVANUS, but I have to give a thumbs down on this one. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by Colleen L
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My husband & I loved this soup.I did not add tarragon or parsley.I only added 1cup of chicken to the dumpling mixture but added 1tsp. baking powder & 1/2 cup of extra flour because the dough was too runny. We loved the dumplings because we like them heavy.I also sprinkled fresh chopped green onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The dumplings turned out great for my family. Even my wife ate them and she said she did not like dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Rich and flavorful. I couldn't stop eating it. One WARNING--it's extreemly difficult to get the dumplings to form. I finally gave up and added the dumpling mixture to the soup which created a very rich broth. Also, I did NOT put chicken in the dumpling mixture and put it in the soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
wow it was wonderful time consuming but i had fun making it. its not a quick dinner but it will surly warm the soul on a cold winter day. Worth the time it took. I did add a few more veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States